WildStar: View from the end of the world

dru1

After a long, drawn-out journey, it feels as though my WildStar Engineer Syppi Tsunami is nearing the end of her youth. Last night I went through the Lone Guardian instance and was treated to more backstory about the core world mystery, Drusara, the Entity, and the Elden.

The instance was horribly bugged, however. Apparently it’s been like that for quite some time and hasn’t been fixed yet. I had to restart it three times due to various glitches that left me unable to proceed. My favorite one, however, was when I was fighting the end boss and he knocked me up so far that my character was stuck inside the floor of an observation room. I had to do a /stuck suicide to get out and try that again.

I’m on the verge of level 50 and have since moved on from Malgrave to Southern Grimvault. By now I have a very fixed build that’s the most efficient in terms of pumping out good DPS on a smooth rotation, which is kind of a shame because I wish that there were other builds as good to have some variety.

dru2

Gotta say, I love the Strain as a foe. It’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but the bizarre monstrosities, random eyeballs, mouths everywhere, and purple infections are quite memorable if nothing else. That giant maul up there has a mouth on the side of it, although I can’t imagine that being helpful in a fight.

Increasingly my goal is to continue to acquire as many costume pieces and housing items. I’m torn on my Engineer as to whether I’ll stick with her well-decorated but relatively tiny house or to expand to a bigger (but not huge) one. I have so many FABkits right now that I can’t plug a fourth of them in, but that should change with this fall’s patch.

Eventually I’ll pick back up my Spellslinger again (Syppi Widdershins). She’s doing a few challenges every day to accumulate dyes, housing decor, and money. I have a really cool Iron Man-like costume that I recently dyed bright purple and yellow. I might actually like fighting on her better than the Engie and she has the Settler path too, which I enjoy more.

It’s great to see more and more people both talking and playing WildStar out in the blogosphere. The excitement for this fall’s F2P transition is building and considering how far the game’s come in a year, it’s a good time to come back to give it another shot.

5 thoughts on “WildStar: View from the end of the world

  1. wolfyseyes August 26, 2015 / 9:07 am

    The Strain’s overabundance was my issue, even if it is a neat enemy. It does a good job of making you want to kill it, though.

    I do love the whole thing with Drusera, though. Such a neat story.

  2. doyce August 26, 2015 / 9:40 am

    Has there been any official word on when the f2p patch is going to drop? I really enjoyed the game while I was playing it, but I hit a point where I had to decide which subscription MMOs I was going to get rid of to save some money (the answer was all of them), but I and my daughter really enjoyed the game, & my understanding is it would be beneficial to get our subscription running before free to play kicked in. (True?)

    If this is true, I want to make sure I have the subscription up before the patch happens, but at the same time I don’t want to be paying for the subscriptions for more than a month.

  3. Aywren August 26, 2015 / 10:29 am

    I’m looking forward to F2P and hope to get some time to explore the world again once it drops. May even re-roll just to try out the new character experience since I had a lot of issues with how the old-new character experience felt to me. I have this feeling that there’s gotta be a good story in there somewhere, but I just haven’t reached it on my little level 15.

  4. Syp August 26, 2015 / 10:44 am

    Doyce — No word as to a release yet, although they still have the second part of the closed beta to test, so it might be another month at the least. I’d bet October.

  5. kevinbrill August 26, 2015 / 1:21 pm

    I spent the other night repeatedly wiping through normal Ruins of Kel Voreth with a PUG. I was on my esper healing, seeing the instance for the first time, and it was such an intense and fun time. We ended up downing the final boss after ~10 tries, and it was truly an accomplishment.

    I will say that the group was awesome, with everyone having a positive attitude. We replaced a DPS spot three times, but the core pushed on, helped each other out, and we had a wonderful time.

    I’m excited for F2P. Rift is still my #1 MMO of choice, but Wildstar is a great alternative to tab targeted GCD MMOs.

Leave a Reply

