WildStar: Making post-50 plans

wildstar plans

I don’t think I mentioned it here on the blog, but the other night I finally crossed the level 50 mark with my engie — my first level 50 to date. It caught me off-guard, so I wasn’t able to take a screenshot, but believe me that it did happen.

Uh huh. Sure it did, Syp.

I’ve been chewing on what to do next, really. It’s not that I’m out of content or ways to advance, and off the top of my head I can think of the following:

  • Finish up the Grimvault zones and Crimson Badlands
  • Grind out elder gems and buy more amp/ability points
  • Get more money and work on housing
  • Take on contracts and work my way up those reward tiers
  • Dip my toes into dungeons and veteran adventures
  • Hunt down challenges for specific rewards

What I won’t be doing is any sort of raid attunement or PvPing. Not my thing at all and I’m not going to let peer pressure or this game convince me that I need to change up what I’m doing in the endgame.

However, I’m heavily leaning toward parking my engie for a while and taking another class up through the leveling process. Possibly, probably a Medic. I have a few goals that I would like to do better in a second run-through, including:

  • Snagging as many costume pieces as possible
  • Hunting down all of the Tales from the Fringe copies in each zone
  • Fully leveling up the settler path
  • Taking the time to level up architect crafting and pouring those items into an awesome house

Plus, we’re getting closer now to free-to-play and Shade’s Eve, so there’s going to be a lot to check out and enjoy this fall whether I’m on my high-level character or not.

Just thinking out loud here.

4 thoughts on “WildStar: Making post-50 plans

  1. David Bass (@doctordake) September 2, 2015 / 12:52 pm

    If I may invite you to reconsider attunement; now that they improved all the worst parts of it, it’s a fun quest chain with only one or two rough parts (rep grinding and world bosses). There are some cool solo instances it runs you through (ARKSHIP HEIST!), and you get to do some fun little things like the bonus Kel Voreth boss.

    I know raiding itself isn’t your cup of tea, but the progression chain is much better than it used to be, and you’ll end up completing a lot of things naturally anyway if you’re checking out the rest of the content (dungeons/adventures).

    PS. Did you do all the Drusera quests while leveling? Make sure you catch up on those before Grimvault.

  2. soulboundlife September 2, 2015 / 2:23 pm

    You made it!!!!!!

    /cheers

    Have some cake! In a cup!

  3. Slade5000 September 2, 2015 / 4:37 pm

    Long time reader, first time posting.
    What I didn’t see you mention are Veteran Shiphands. At level 50, you can run beefed up versions of the shiphand missions you encountered while leveling up. The veteran versions have the same basic story, but with a few additional optional tasks and a timer. if you complete all the optional tasks and beat the timer you earn a gold completion ranking which provides more loot. In addition, if you complete all the veteran shiphands at gold level, a new gear vendor opens for you with gear. There is a daily quest that designates a specific shiphand mission that will provide elder gems upon completion. Lastly, in the game’s current state you also earn veteran shiphand credits which can be redeemed for a little money and some renown. The missions scale to party size so you can definitely run them solo if you want. Most of the timers are 25 minutes or less, so it’s content you can really just jump into without a big time sink. And finally, there are special pets that only drop in veteran shiphand missions and also decor items, mainly full size spaceships.

  4. Mercury (@MysticalMesmer) September 2, 2015 / 10:08 pm

    Congratulations on your level 50 Engineer! To use the Bhagpuss analogy, you are absolutely free to choose which stores you enter when you go to the mall. If raiding and player combat aren’t your thing, there’s still tons of stuff to do – and that includes rolling up a bunch of alts.

    With regard to your previous post about watching the UI, I would recommend LUI Aura which is a lightweight conditional cooldown monitor (among other things) that can be configured to pop up an ability icon on your screen when it’s off cooldown and you are between 30-70 volatility. LUI Aura has a smaller footprint than AuraMastery, uses WildStar’s internal menu system, and is compartmentalized in an easy-to-understand fashion. You would have to spend 10-15 minutes either setting up your “proc” display or finding an import string somewhere online, however.

    I try to use as few AddOns as possible in WildStar (in part due to performance issues); an aura monitor is a must-have as far as I’m concerned.

Leave a Reply

