Need an MMO character name? Steal these!

zzzI rolled up a new WildStar Medic last night and spent some time deliberating over her last name. In games with dual names, I try to keep the first name constant for friends’/guildies’ easy recognition, so the last name becomes a catch-all for creative expression. I decided to go with Elysian, which has a pretty ring to it.

Names are important. Oh so important. They’re often the one aspect of a character that is utterly unchangable after a character is born (although not always — some MMOs will let you pay or petition to rename). My wife and I recently concluded a multi-month quest to pick a name for our fourth child, a process that is difficult when the bottom-line rule is “something we both have to agree upon” and we have very different tastes in names. We were acutely aware of how vital it was to pick a name that would fit for all ages, a name that was flexible (nicknames, etc.), and a name that wasn’t too bland, too weird, or too common.

I used to employ a lot more naming variety in my characters in MMOs back before I blogged and settled down into a singular naming convention. “Ghostfire” was a name that I plucked from a Magic: The Gathering card that I particularly liked. “Platypus” was an animal that I always found amusing, including its name. “Twisty” had a short, fun ring to it. I liked “Trixie” for its old-timey sass. “Echoes” was my WoW druid, and I had a good run with that name. I also had a “Snappi” for a long time as another character.

I think I first employed “Yeti Yesterday” as a superhero character in City of Heroes — I loved the unusual alliteration that went with it, and I’ve carried on the Yeti legacy through both Guild Wars and The Secret World.

As I’ve said before, “Syp” was created in 2006 for a new World of Warcraft character after I deduced that people only typed three letters of your name when they were addressing you in-game anyway. There are derivatives of this: Syppi, Sypster, and (my least favorite) Sype.

Here are some other names that I wrote down in a file that I never ended up using — feel free to steal them! Mostly they were words that I went, “Yeah, that has a good sound to it” and wrote down.

  • Willow
  • Jubilee
  • Cobwebs
  • Jinx
  • Asterisk
  • Sneeze
  • Shivers
  • Spark
  • Lurk
  • Opaque
  • Zod
  • Flea
  • Maroon
  • Slinky
  • Scuttlebutt
  • Popcorn
  • Inkling
  • Songstorm
  • Flux
  • Slip
  • Cinder
  • Mercury
  • Dew
  • Ember
  • Door
  • Jot
  • Wan
  • Threshold
  • Swanky
  • Elucid
  • Glum
  • Peep
  • Honu
  • Kit
  • Kip
  • Pez
  • Bingo
  • Flotsam
  • Jetsam
  • Flapjack
  • Tinkerhell
  • Gloom
  • Walkabout
  • Hunkymunky
  • Jammer
  • Tahoe
  • Mist
  • Fiddyment
  • Iceberg
  • Banjo
8 thoughts on “Need an MMO character name? Steal these!

  1. Grant September 3, 2015 / 9:10 am

    I might go ahead and save these for possible NPC names in my rollplaying group, Swanky Flapjack has a nice ring to it šŸ™‚

  2. ChaosConstant September 3, 2015 / 10:21 am

    Need an MMO character name? Why not Zoidberg?

  3. FraidOfTheLight September 3, 2015 / 10:35 am

    So which of these did you pick for your fourth child? šŸ™‚

  4. Tyler F.M. Edwards September 3, 2015 / 10:42 am

    Almost without exception, all of my character names are obscure sci-fi/fantasy references. I’m particularly fond of naming my avatars after characters from Ian Irvine’s Three Worlds novels because I love the books, and because names from them are rarely taken (unlike, say, Lord of the Rings names). But I’ve also taken names from the Black Company novels, Shadows of the Apt, and World of Warcraft (for characters in other games).

  5. Aywren September 3, 2015 / 11:09 am

    I have a huge assortment of funny names for my EQ2 character roster (cuz I have like 15 characters in that game). I actually have a Ratonga in EQ2 named Scuttle – not Scuttlebutt, but close. I also have a character I write about in fiction stories named Kip, so I often use that as an MMO character.

    My favorite joke name to use only works when an MMO allows for a last name:

    “Hovering Text”

    Because… you know… that’s what it is when it’s written above your character’s head. It works even better when it’s for a race that actually hovers with wings, like Fey or something. Yes, I have a Hovering Text in EQ2. XD

    I used to joke that I should roll a Death Knight (or whatever the equivalent emo, evil-dark class) and name them… “Flowers.” Last name? “Onurgrave.”

  6. kevinbrill September 3, 2015 / 11:27 am

    “Hey there Hunkymunky” xoxo

    šŸ˜€

  7. Rowan September 3, 2015 / 2:26 pm

    Just last night, I roled another Republic Trooper in SWTOR. I wanted him to have more of a codename/callsign like the rest of Havoc. He is a cyborg with a pair of the “glasses” prosthetics, and he specializes in “Forward Assault, Search and Destroy, and Advance Recon.” So I named him “Eyes’on.”

  8. othnieltcs September 3, 2015 / 5:55 pm

    I just might steal “inkling”, for some reason I like it. And “Kit” reminds me of the time a girl in school told me I reminded her of the char with that name from “The Old Curiosity Shop” šŸ˜

Leave a Reply

