September: The Month of WildStar

Buckle up and hold on, ’cause WildStar is hitting the ignition on free-to-play later this month.

We heard this morning that Carbine’s MMO has set a date for the F2P conversion for September 29th, which fortunately gets out ahead of the craziness that is October (Guild Wars 2 and SWTOR expansions) and November (BlizzCon). September is a great month for something like this — historically, lots of MMOs have released this month and rolled out major updates/expansions for the beginning of the fall.

Although, Carbine, WildStar: Reloaded? Seriously? Did no one in the studio raise their hand and go, “Um, do we really want to be drawing comparisons to the second Matrix movie that let everyone down?”

While I’m already in the game, F2P will be a welcome moment for me. I’ll be dropping my subscription at that time (bringing it down to just SWTOR), enjoying whatever cosmic point rewards I’ve accrued, plunder the cash shop, expand my housing plot, and reveling in what will hopefully be the start of a brighter era for WildStar. I’m really, truly excited about it — it’s a great game that deserves another chance with a better business model.

Plus, we have a couple of events coming soon after — Hoverboard zPrix Invitational and Shade’s Eve.

I’m really curious what the next content update post-F2P will be focused on and when it will be. But in the meanwhile, I rolled up a new Medic last night and had a great time with her, so I’m going to see how far I can get her between now and the 29th.

8 thoughts on “September: The Month of WildStar

  1. Hagu September 3, 2015 / 12:37 pm

    Oooh thanks for the breaking news. And IMO making Sept has to help them.

  2. bhagpuss September 3, 2015 / 12:54 pm

    Great timing right as I go holiday, which would be fine if I was staying at home but I”m not. Ah well, it’ll be there when I get back and the crush and crashes should be over by then.

  3. Shintar September 3, 2015 / 1:49 pm

    I can’t help it, but “I really want this game to succeed so I can’t wait to stop giving them money” sounds kind of weird to me…

  4. Syp September 3, 2015 / 3:10 pm

    Didn’t say I’d stop giving them money. I’d just rather buy things from a store than be under the yoke of a monthly sub.

  5. Redbeard September 3, 2015 / 4:43 pm

    Matrix: Reloaded wasn’t so good.

    But the RPG Deadlands: Reloaded was.

    The two cancel each other out in my book.

  6. Llokki September 4, 2015 / 2:32 am

    Good to hear that it’s coming sooner rather than later. I just hope that it’s been properly tested and polished…

    On a more personal note, I’m wondering… I know that if you (were) subbed up when they announced F2P and stayed subbed until its launch, you’d get a bunch of bonuses. I was intending on doing that, but I had to change credit cards at one point and completely forgot to update me details, so my sub lapsed. Do you think I’m still eligible, or would I miss out due to that? :-\

  7. Zombiepirate September 7, 2015 / 6:52 am

    My 4 year old daughter got a Rowsdowser as a gift recently and I told her that I’d get the game that it was in for her to see, knowing that we’d be getting F2P soon (after I already sub to TOR and WoW) so good to know I can take her through making a character and then we can go exploring to find her “sheepy”.

  8. Chestnut Stonebough (@ggchestnut) September 9, 2015 / 2:37 pm

    Reloaded is actually just the name of the game update (Like “The Protogames Initiative”, “Genesis Prime”, or “Sabotage!”), and the game itself isn’t rebranding. Though, yeah… Reloaded? Too Matrix-y. And it wasn’t too great, haha.

    I’m also *really* excited for Shade’s Eve! I made sure to stay away from the PTR and livestreams/podcasts so I didn’t spoil myself. I’m so excited about what’s to come from the positive reactions!

    They’ve not said anything about straying away from the quarterly updates, so my guess is sometime in December for the next game update, as F2P squeaks into the third quarter before the finish line (barely).

Leave a Reply

