Great moments in gaming buffoonery

sweep

We all have those “d’oh!” moments in gaming where we make a stupid and immediately regrettable decision. I seem to bump into these quite often.

For example, a week or so ago in SWTOR I was on Voss, merrily questing along when I saw a clickable lore object. Now, I’m not one to collect codex entries, but it wasn’t out of my way, so why not? And I clicked it without a second thought.

Well, that wasn’t a lore object; it was a world boss summon stone. Cue Syp flailing about in panic as an unstoppable bad guy descended to beat the living stuffing out of him. Even better, this happened just as a small group of players passed by, so they saw my humiliation and warned my corpse that it’s not a good idea to summon world bosses solo. Thanks.

Or take last night, as I was fighting my way into a fortress on Makeb. I made it all of the way to the boss and died, so I resurrected and prepared to regroup. I went to click on my character’s buff ability, but not paying full attention, I accidentally selected a port back to my starship. You could hear my “NOOOOOOOOO!” across the galaxy.

Cue Syp running back through the orbital station, taking the shuttle down to the surface, more running, a flight path, more running, more fighting back through the fortress, and my guild laughing at my pain.

Last night again, I logged into WildStar and was questing in the opening bits of Whitevale. My wife called me away from the computer for a few minutes, so I got to a safe spot and walked away.

Unbeknownst to me but knownst to my character, I had accidentally hit the auto-run key, so my character began an unpiloted solo adventure through the zone of Whitevale. I came back to find her incredibly far away from my starting point, somehow miraculously alive but in a dangerous spot. And since I hadn’t bound to a transmat terminal yet, I had to run all of the way back. Really, my gaming session last night was all about pointless re-running

This is your hero, MMOs. This is the person you’ve chosen to save your worlds.

5 thoughts on “Great moments in gaming buffoonery

  1. Rowan September 17, 2015 / 10:22 am

    I clicked that tablet on Voss once. Once. Luckily, I was there to prevent Scooter from clicking on it later.

    As far as the portkey to your ship, was there a cast bar? The quick travel and station passes can be canceled by jumping or moving.

  2. Syp September 17, 2015 / 10:55 am

    There was, but again I wasn’t paying attention until like the last second on the bar.

  3. Zombiepirate September 17, 2015 / 11:42 am

    I’ve done the one on Voss too and the one on Taris. It’s not my fault they made them the same colour as the XP generating lore stuff!

  4. Rowan September 17, 2015 / 12:24 pm

    Oh, and the one in the middle of the Dune Sea on Tatooine.

  5. mystyrys September 17, 2015 / 12:47 pm

    I clicked that stone on Voss too, thinking the same thing you did — lore object. I was dead before I realized what was even happening. I think they did that world boss that way on purpose. A little joke from the devs. 😛

Leave a Reply

