SWTOR: Down and out on Makeb

makeb1

It’s hard to tell exactly, but my Smuggler’s voice has changed a bit from the end of the personal storyline and the Rise of the Hutt Cartel. I guess you wouldn’t have noticed if you were playing one all along, but going rapidly through the storyline there’s that jump of a year or so. I guess they got back the same voice actress, but now my Smuggler sounds a little less chirpy and a little deeper than before.

Anyway.

Continuing with my power tour of the galaxy, I blew through Makeb in three or four sessions. That was gratifying, as it’s not my favorite of planets. Pretty sometimes, but chalk up “earthquake zones” alongside jungles and canyons as navigationally aggravating areas that I’d rather avoid.

I actually started running into problems on Makeb in terms of my power level. Doing the 12x leveling thing really hurts your gear acquisition, and I’m saving up my commendations for level 60 gear. So I had to struggle with being underpowered throughout a good chunk of Makeb, meaning that I often got in over my head in fights and died far more than I had before. But I held out, because I knew that sweet, sweet gear upgrade was coming, and sure enough, I started to make progress in this regard.

makeb2

See? Pretty. Don’t even want to know where the sadistic datacron developer hid all of them.

The story was solid — not so much a “rise” of the Hutt Cartel as a “blip” of the Hutt Cartel. Was nice to hear a Hutt actually talk in Basic for once, and I enjoyed seeing the Republic side of things. More about securing a giant ship and evacuating the planet than stopping the planetary collapse (although if the Imperials stopped Makeb from being destroyed, couldn’t the population go back?).

Progress-wise, my character hit level 56 and I spent some of my hard-earned credits on a tauntaun mount. Do not regret that purchase at all, it’s a magnificent beast. It might die before it reaches the first marker, however.

So now I’m into the prologue flashpoints for Shadow of Revan with the now-famous droid that could conquer the Empire single-handed. Feels good to be on track for the upcoming expansion launch, although I do have a lot of work to do with leveling up companion affection. Guss was quite upset that I took a few dark side choices as of late.

2 thoughts on “SWTOR: Down and out on Makeb

  1. goldenhornet September 21, 2015 / 9:17 am

    Erm, on Makeb you should be using the GSI terminals to gain the support buff.

    “Once registered with the GSI support satellites, GSI will track your every move and provide you with the following support services:
    Gear is now bolstered to a 156 rating while on Makeb, increasing all stats!
    When combat is detected, a Medical Probe will be deployed to administer long-lasting, refreshing Kolto, healing you for 2% every 3 seconds while you remain in combat.
    There is now a 250% boost to exploration Experience while on Makeb.”

    http://www.swtor.com/patchnotes/8192014/game-update-2.9-galactic-strongholds-early-access

    That way it doesn’t matter what gear you are wearing, you will be able to fight anything you come across with relative ease.

  2. Syp September 21, 2015 / 9:48 am

    Honestly — I totally, completely forgot about the GSI terminals. Now that you mention it, I did use them with my Agent, but that was a while ago.

Leave a Reply

