Vote for Bio Break’s next retro gaming series!

I just wrapped up the final two missions of Star Trek Judgment Rites, the writeups of which will go live this weekend. With that out of the way, I’m open to a new game for next week and would like to put it to a reader vote.

Here are the three candidates for the next retro gaming series:

  • Pool of Radiance (RPG): A classic “Gold Box” D&D adventure from 1988 and the first such advanced D&D computer game.
  • Thief: The Dark Project (FPS/Stealth): The 1998 first-person stealth title that kicked off a cult series.
  • Master of Magic (Turned-Based 4X): A 1994 title that has the player assuming the role of a wizard who must grow a fantasy kingdom.

That’s a good variety from my library, I feel. No adventure game this time around!

17 thoughts on “Vote for Bio Break’s next retro gaming series!

  1. repgrind September 24, 2015 / 12:27 pm

    Pool of Radiance sounds awfully familiar. I think I might have that on my shelf at home.

  2. bhagpuss September 24, 2015 / 12:57 pm

    I hope you have a version of Pool of Radiance that works. It was notoriously buggy. I never got past past the first fight, not because it was too difficult but because it crashed so often I gave up on it.

  3. Wilhelm Arcturus September 24, 2015 / 1:14 pm

    I had Pool of Radiance back at some point, long enough ago that I can only just recall the box and nothing else.

  4. Tanek September 24, 2015 / 1:27 pm

    I am fascinated by stealth games (or ones that can be played that way – Dishonored was one of my favorite single-player games in the last few years) and would be interested in seeing one of the early titles.

  5. Rowan September 24, 2015 / 1:42 pm

    I voted for Pool of Radiance because I read a D&D novel by that name back in the dark ages.

  6. Syp September 24, 2015 / 1:55 pm

    I think I only played one Gold Box title, and that was Buck Rogers. So it would be interesting.

  7. Syp September 24, 2015 / 1:56 pm

    The GOG version looks to be pretty solid, they usually do a good job modding it up so it runs good on modern computers.

  8. DanVzare September 24, 2015 / 2:11 pm

    As much as I love Thief, I’m going to have to say Pool of Radiance, simply because I’ve never played that game, and I would love to read a let’s play on it.

  9. Mabrick September 24, 2015 / 2:51 pm

    Pool of Radiance the novel was based on the game Rowan. It’s also one of my fondest D&D box game memories. I vote for PoR, though Master of Magic is a close second. 🙂

  10. Rowan September 24, 2015 / 4:36 pm

    I figured as much, though at the time I think I assumed it was based on a tabletop campaign.

  11. Helena Khan September 24, 2015 / 4:42 pm

    Master of magic. It was awesome 🙂

  12. Shandren September 24, 2015 / 5:57 pm

    I’m torn here. The old gold box D&D games cost me quiete some time way back when, but so did master of Magic. I think i will go for Pool of radiance (it IS the old one of them right?) though as It has more story iirc.

  13. Shandren September 24, 2015 / 5:59 pm

    Doh it says so clearly, sorry. Just read the vote

  14. Emily September 24, 2015 / 9:32 pm

    You’re going to love Thief if you’ve never played it before. It’ll certainly take you by surprise. 🙂

  15. Particlebit September 25, 2015 / 8:49 am

    Go go pool of radiance!

  16. Kevin Brill (@kevinbrill) September 25, 2015 / 11:41 pm

    I would vote for Master of Magic based purely on how much I loved it and played the crap out of it in college. But I voted for PoR, since I think it will give a much better narrative than MoM. Also, the Krynn series of gold box games were also excellent as I recall.

  17. Thomas Kennady September 28, 2015 / 12:30 am

    Wish I still had all my graph papers from PoR and Bards Tale.

Leave a Reply

