6 MMOs I wish I had time to be playing

Right now I’m in a pretty good MMO gaming groove, focused down on two games for the most part: WildStar and SWTOR. Each gets about an hour of playtime a day from me, with a smattering of Marvel Heroes here and there.

And that’s perfect for me right now. I want to focus on those titles with the upcoming major content updates, not to mention that I’m genuinely enjoying both. Trimming down to two MMOs is definitely less stressful as well, which is something I want to keep in mind for when baby #4 arrives here around November. No sense overloading!

But that doesn’t mean that I don’t think about playing other games, sometimes wistfully so. You can’t read all of the blogs I do and write about MMO news without peering over the fence at other games. So here are six titles that I have no time to play — but I still think about now and then.

The Secret World: Now that Tokyo’s over, I feel the urgency to progress through TSW at a standstill. Sure, I could continue with my lowbie playthrough series (and I might at some point), but right now I’m OK taking a break to return whenever a new zone or missions arise. No, Funcom, a new dungeon isn’t enough to get me to come back.

Trove: Weirdly enough, I feel deeply regretful that I’m not playing Trove. I see that community having a rip-roaring good time and know that in a world where I had another 10 hours to my day, I could be dropping a third of that time into this game happily.

RIFT: Speaking of Trion, RIFT will always be an “MMO home” that I’ll at least know I’m welcome to come back to at any time. Lots to love about that game, and after doing a dev tour yesterday, I wish that I still had the fire to be playing it. I’ve made a promise to myself that if I ever do come back, it will be on a character that will only do instant adventures and dungeons.

Project Gorgon: This one will take some explanation. I didn’t suddenly lose my newfound interest in this game. On the contrary, I really, really want to be playing it, but I don’t want to get too deep and then have to start over (either from a wipe, some major changes, or — in my case — the addition of a new race that I’d want to play). I will come back, it will happen, it’s just a matter of time and development progress.

World of Warcraft: Sometimes it hits me, how long I’ve been away from this game. It’s for the best, I know — I was burned out and I wanted to see the wider world of MMOs. And I’m glad, not just professionally but personally. But every now and then I’ll hear some WoW music that will drudge up memories or have a small freak-out that I’ve missed out on some five years of the game’s life and want to go back. Never say never!

Star Trek Online: Those space battles were something else, weren’t they? And I loved how I never felt insanely far behind the power/gear curve. I haven’t even seen the Delta Rising expansion, it’s been a while.

5 thoughts on “6 MMOs I wish I had time to be playing

  1. goldenhornet September 25, 2015 / 9:12 am

    My gaming time is currently spent on SWTOR (my sub game) and World of Warships (my free game) with occasional dabbling in Sims 3 (my can’t be bothered to play anything game).

    Your RIFT 3.4 article however made me wish I was still playing that. I really enjoyed my time and will have to go back some day. The game is really well put together and I should explore a couple more classes.

  2. TeriShelly September 25, 2015 / 9:28 am

    I know what you mean. I really want to try Wildstar but I just can’t see how I can fit it in now I’m back into WoW and also playing Hearthstone & Minecraft.

  3. Rowan September 25, 2015 / 12:52 pm

    I find that SWTOR takes up all my game time, which is the “problem” with me and subscriptions. (I know it’s optional; but for SWTOR, it’s really not.) I do sometimes get wistful for some other game (most often TSW), but never enough to fire it up instead of getting back into another session of 12x storyline.

  4. Nick September 25, 2015 / 3:34 pm

    From a gameplay perspective, you’re not missing much with Delta Rising. It caused more problems than it really solved. From a story perspective, especially once it started to kick into high gear with the Iconian War, things got interesting. It was kind of cool how they stitched together a whole lot of scattered elements from show canon and the game in general. It wasn’t perfect, but the war did have a satisfying ending.

  5. Telwyn September 26, 2015 / 3:35 am

    I think I’ll be back in Wildstar for some duo gameplay once my Draenor play-through in WoW runs out of steam. I’m also rather tempted to give Rift a try once more, if I only I could get past the lacklustre Storm Legion zones I’d probably enjoy the game once more. It all comes down to time as you say though. Too many games to play…

Leave a Reply

