Living in an internet-free household

No_WifiIt was not the best weekend in the Syp household. After taking the kids to a bounce house place on Saturday morning, I came home, did some chores, and settled in for a little gaming. At 3:00 p.m. our internet went out, the third time in the past month (fourth if you factor in a power outage last weekend). And it didn’t come back up, even after troubleshooting over the phone and endlessly resetting the modem. The best they could do was to send someone out Monday afternoon, they said.

Well that just put a damper on the past two days.

I know, I know, first world problems and all that, but when the internet goes out, it really changes up your schedule and creates some significant headaches. I had some games I needed to play for columns, I had pieces to write, and I really wanted to attend the pre-F2P launch party that was going on on my WildStar server on Sunday night.

Today I feel frazzled because of this outage, knocked out of my established routine. I had to wait until going to work to write this, and I’m trying to plan my day around a five-hour window that the internet guy is supposed to show up. There’s a podcast to do later, not to mention a three-gig WildStar patch to download.

That’s not to say that I was sitting in a corner, rocking myself while keening out loud because I felt completely lost without my precious internet. I always have things to do and that need to be done, and I’ll never begrudge spending a little more time with my family. We all unwrapped a DVD we’d been saving, Plans: Fire & Rescue, and my kids absolutely loved it. After everyone went to bed, I chewed through a novel and then caught up on my sleep.

I’m all for taking breaks from the constant online connectivity, I just would rather do it as part of a plan than my crappy modem deciding to take a sabbatical in the middle of a weekend.

On the plus side, I did get some time in with Devilian’s alpha and should be back up for WildStar’s Reloaded patch tomorrow, so I’m not going to spend any more time whining about it. So I’m sorry there isn’t any exciting gaming tale to share today!

2 thoughts on “Living in an internet-free household

  1. T.J. Schofield September 28, 2015 / 1:14 pm

    Yes, that moment when the Router goes out and my wife and I are left staring at each other going “NOW what do we do?” I feel ya! Hope it stabilizes for you!

    – Hawkwind

  2. DocHoliday October 1, 2015 / 3:26 pm

    I feel your pain, although in a different manner. I’ve been without AC for the past week and its luckily been “cool” here in texas.

    Keep up the good work, and I always enjoy your personal posts as well.=

Leave a Reply

