Picture of the Day: Battle armor

sage

I was messing around with a new Jedi Sage in SWTOR this past weekend — because blindfolds are all the MMO rage these days — and I gifted her a set of battle-worn armor so that I didn’t have to bear the sight of her running around in a bathrobe.

I just love, love, love this armor because it’s so dinged up. Armor with character is way more interesting to me than shiny, perfect looks. Here there are scorch marks, chunks missing, holes, and all sorts of other points of damage that suggest a sad history for its former user. It’s perfect for a counter-cultural Jedi.

9 thoughts on “Picture of the Day: Battle armor

  1. Rowan October 5, 2015 / 12:31 pm

    While I am also anti-bathrobe (try it on a body type 4 female some time >,< ), I'm not super fond of battle-damaged armor myself. Maybe it's my military background, but I prefer "spit and polish" gear. (Yes, I know the SWU has a "used future" look.)

  2. Stormwaltz October 5, 2015 / 1:00 pm

    I determined long ago that if I were ever in a position to decide such things, I’d make high level and raid armor weathered, practical leather and steel, and everything with gold, particle effects, and giant 80s shoulders would be defensively worthless cosmetic gear.

  3. john October 6, 2015 / 2:40 am

    The armor is beautiful but character is also beautiful as well. Any chance for screenshot from the change appearance kiosk to see the sliders? 🙂

  4. Syp October 6, 2015 / 9:44 am

    John — if I stop back at fleet, I’ll try to do so for you. No promises as to when tho!

  5. Syp October 6, 2015 / 9:45 am

    Storm – LOL!

  6. Syp October 6, 2015 / 9:46 am

    Rowan – That’s fine, to each their own. For me, everyone looking TOO good in adventure-filled universes feels artificial to me, especially in fantasy.

  7. Jonathan October 6, 2015 / 12:33 pm

    So… what outfit is that, anyway? The family just started playing SWTOR, and I suspect the wife would like that look on her sage…

  8. talismanAU October 8, 2015 / 12:01 am

    Jonathan. I am pretty sure that’s the Battleworn Triumvirate Armour. I had the same chest piece for a trooper for a while. Its a Cartel Item. You can get them on the GTN for in game currancy.

    I am liking the new wardrobe options (well better than they were). My Sage Shadow had only button up light armour robes, but I was able to add some heavy armour pieces to actually make her look like her tank role.

  9. John October 8, 2015 / 9:39 am

    Syp, i see you hate the bazaar on the fleet, not blame you 🙂 i hate that place too. But if you get there, do not forget me 🙂 i will check the site constanly for a hope of a screen!

Leave a Reply

