WildStar: Straining my patience

When bad or rocky launches (even relaunches) happen, you have two vocal crowds that emerge pretty quickly: the doom-n-gloomers and the white knights. Both can be more than a little silly, with the doomers prematurely declaring an end to all things and the knights beseeching the community to be nothing but positive sunshine and rainbows.

I’ve witnessed many situations similar to what is currently happening with WildStar’s rocky F2P launch — queues, bugs, disconnects, a grumpy community, crowds slamming servers, devs working overtime to fix it all. And I know, from experience, that there are two overriding truths at play here:

  1. There’s nothing like a game telling you that you can’t play it to make you really really want to play it.
  2. Given time, this too shall pass and all of the immediate drama and problems will be forgotten.

That said, we’re still in the thick of a terribly shaky rollout with no end in sight and it’s been going on for a week now. The smiles on the optimistic crowd have to be a bit strained at this point.

Personally, I have about a two-day supply of patience for any major MMO problem. If a server crashes or a launch goes badly… two days. I will shrug, acknowledge that problems happen with these technologically complicated games, and do something else for a while. I’ll urge patience as well during that period.

But after those two days? I think it’s reasonable to start getting a little miffed that a game I was playing happily with no issues last week now is engaging a weird sort of Russian roulette with me where every chamber is loaded with something horrible such as an infinite login loop, 10-second lag, disappearing items, and near-hourly server restarts.

I know the devs are doing everything they can to make it better. I know it will get better. I know that there’s plenty of other games to play and things that need doing. But it’s still frustrating and it’s hard not to see that what should’ve been a really awesome relaunch week for the game has been tarnished by server gremlins. Could Carbine have done more to prepare? I’m not on that side of things nor am I a tech wiz, but it’s hard not to feel that someone dropped the ball here.

Oh well. This too shall pass. Back to playing SWTOR then!

7 thoughts on “WildStar: Straining my patience

  1. Aywren October 5, 2015 / 9:19 am

    I managed to log in a few times last week, but for the most part, I’m doing other things hoping the team will work it out soon.

  2. goldenhornet October 5, 2015 / 9:22 am

    I installed Wildstar on Saturday night to see if it had improved since the last time I played (closed beta). Call me curious.

    Yesterday morning I logged in and saw a queue of 700 and an estimated wait of “Less than a minute!”. 23 minutes later I was allowed to roll a character.

    Yesterday afternoon I thought I’d pop on and play a little. The queue was over 7,000.

    I played SWTOR instead.

    There’s nothing like a game telling you that you can’t play it to make you shrug and spend your money somewhere else…

  3. Chestnut Stonebough (@ggchestnut) October 5, 2015 / 10:08 am

    “The smiles on the optimistic crowd have to be a bit strained at this point.” –Yes, my smile is kind of painted on at the moment, hah. I’ve been trying to occupy myself in other games to keep as positive as I can about the game I love the most. That said, I have noticed that while queues are still long as hell, even for Signature folks, the Lag Boss has been getting nerfed (though slowly).

  4. Tanek October 5, 2015 / 10:09 am

    Anyone experience problems with the new servers/realms/whatevers that were added? So far I have been able to log right on there with no lag or queues.

    Related to that, I wonder how many people have taken the route of transferring to the new servers and how long those servers will be separate before merging back in.

  5. ChaosConstant October 5, 2015 / 11:33 am

    As an IT guy, I can see both sides. Downtimes like this are completely unacceptable, but also absolutely understandable. I feel like they should have known to bring up the extra servers before the launch, but if nobody shows up then the extra cost of renting, setting up, and running the servers would be disastrous to them.
    I also feel like it’s a PR stunt gone wrong; it’s like it was supposed to send a message of “Oh man, we have so many players we can’t handle them all! Look how popular we are!” but they were even more popular than they realized, so it ended up turning into a train wreck that sent a message of incompetence instead.
    It’s super frustrating, but as you said, this too shall pass.

  6. wolfyseyes October 5, 2015 / 5:38 pm

    If I can suffer through the clownshoes-y launch of XIV, then I can survive this one as well.

    That said, it is a bit exhausting without a doubt. It also doesn’t put a whole lot of confidence in their ability to handle the load when they do seasonal events.

  7. Syp October 6, 2015 / 9:44 am

    Wolfy – at least it’s getting better. Had a couple of smooth nights of play.

Leave a Reply

