Retro Gaming: Pool of Radiance part 4

orc1

(This is part of my journey going checking out Pool of Radiance. You can follow the entire series on the Retro Gaming page.)

Emboldened by my glorious victory over starving kobolds, my party ventures in deeper into the slums. Here we surprise an orc party, perhaps celebrating the retirement of one of their most distinguished members. Mind if we crash?

Here’s the best screen of the game: the after-battle loot screen! Yes, give me all the things, please.

George Michael took a beating with the orcs, probably because the idiot still won’t wear armor or use weapons. Guess we’ll drag his corpse around.

orc3

I felt really bad for this orc. We destroyed his party and this one guy starts running as far as he can until he gets into a corner and can’t go anywhere else. Had to kill him, of course, but still felt bad. Been there, buddy!

orc4

One of the options I sometimes get is to “parlay” with enemy groups. I decided to try it out with kobolds and got this menu screen of attitude options. I really hope that first word is “haughty” and not “naughty.”

I choose “abusive” — of course — and the kobolds seem to like that and give me some advice to stay away from the textile house (?) because of undead. Then I slaughter them all when they turn to leave.

orc5

So here’s what I’ve learned so far: Kobolds are easy and give out a ton of useful items. Orcs are not quite as easy and only give cash. Goblins are tougher than the others and have an awesome running animation.

Cash is actually a better thing to have anyway, since I don’t think you can sell items in this game. After a few fights and with many of our troop hurting, we head back to town and rest up for a week at an inn. Following that, I finally get George Michael equipped with leather armor and a sword. I tried all of the types of bows and crossbows, but I keep getting the “wrong class” despite him being a thief. Well, at least he has something now.

Heading back into the slums, I do feel a little bad that my stats are so godly and my armor makes me all but untouchable (other than soon-to-be-dead George Michael, of course). Then again, it’s either that or have kobolds wipe the floor with my face, so I’m cool with it.

orc6

My greatest regret today is that I never found out what was on the papers that sparked this argument.

4 thoughts on “Retro Gaming: Pool of Radiance part 4

  1. pkudude99 October 11, 2015 / 10:11 am

    Leather armor with its whole whopping 2 AC. Woot!

    An oddity of the stacking rules for the magic armor that you will eventually get is that by the 3rd, or 4th game it’s actually better to not use armor and just use magical bracers, even on your fighters. Can eventually get a -22 Armor class. I don’t think that’s a consideration in the 1st game though — IIRC I got as low as -5 by the end, maybe -6, but that was it. Even so, I still rarely got hit with that low of an AC unless the mobs used Sleep or Hold Person or something and I failed my saving throw. Which is why you do it to them 1st….. and with 18 dexterity you always have initiative so you can take out their casters 1st and then not have to worry about them doing it to you…

    You should be able to sell items. I recall doing that as a way to get some bonus cash at the beginning of the game, though by the end the mobs are dropping so much coin that simply taking the coin will still encumber you so I started just grabbing the platinum and ignoring the rest. Unless I found an item on a boss that was better than what I had, of course. That got looted and equipped.

  2. wolfyseyes October 11, 2015 / 4:31 pm

    They were probably arguing over a forum posting.

  3. Jeromai October 11, 2015 / 10:55 pm

    Maybe give slings a try for poor old George Michael, might be halfling discrimination re: those bows and arrows…

Leave a Reply

