WildStar: Shinies! Shinies! Shinies!

de2

You know what WildStar does really well? Loot. I think back to how underwhelmed I was with 98% of whatever I’d loot in LOTRO, and then compare it to this game where raking in stuff is often quite surprising and pleasing. There’s a wide variety of things one could get apart from vendor trash and gear, including:

  • Costume pieces
  • Pets
  • Alternative currencies (renown, omnibits)
  • Crafting mats
  • Runecrafting mats
  • Seeds
  • Dyes
  • Mount customization
  • Housing decor and FABkits

It makes for a much more interesting pool of rewards and thus an improved gaming experience. Bumping up my stats another 2% is nice, but getting a dancing Lopp for my house? Even better. She’s really excited that I am getting all of these shinies, I think.

And I’ve been raking it in lately, thanks to broadening my horizons a little. My high-level questing continues, as I’ve finished up with Grimvault (and some spoilery story instances I won’t share) and moved on to Brighthaven. But on top of that, I’ve started to venture into veteran shiphands on a regular basis.

de1

Proof!

Actually I came to this in a roundabout fashion. Last week I logged on and our guild was running a “Dungeon 101” session designed to teach veteran dungeons to newbies. What the heck, I signed up for it and we headed out to Stormtalon. Well, we didn’t have a tank and so I reluctantly, oh so reluctantly, agreed to step into that role. Despite having to create a build on the fly. Despite having no tanking gear whatsoever and just level 50 greens.

Yeah, it didn’t go well.

I think we downed the first boss after about ten attempts and many gold in repair bills. But as with most previous experiences tanking, it left me stressed.

However, a day later when I logged back in, some of that same group invited me to help out a guildie get an achievement in a veteran expedition (formerly known as shiphands). Sure, why not, especially if I was allowed to do just DPS? And we had a blast — won one, lost two. I got the aforementioned Lopp dancing decor and some other goodies, but more importantly had my eyes opened to the possibility of using expeditions as a compromise between being solo for life and doing this game’s tough-as-nails dungeons.

So I’ve been working veteran Infestation into my routine and actually loving it. Doing them with a group is a lot more satisfying than soloing them, and the rewards have been quite lucrative. I’m not raking in as much gold as I have heard promised, but I have been piling on the renown and other goodies, including tons of dyes. Hopefully I might even score some better gear so that the next time I head into a dungeon, it won’t be so embarrassing.

7 thoughts on “WildStar: Shinies! Shinies! Shinies!

  1. Gracie October 12, 2015 / 9:25 am

    Glad you enjoyed expeditions! There’s shiny pets and mounts and decor to be had there too 😀

  2. bhagpuss October 12, 2015 / 9:52 am

    d ? You can get d as a drop? Really? Can never have enough d, that’s what I always say!

    Go on, now explain how there really is something called “d” in WildStar and make me look like a total noob, which, of course, I am.

  3. Syp October 12, 2015 / 11:46 am

    @Bhag – You know this is why no one invites you to parties, right? Right?

  4. Shandren October 12, 2015 / 2:16 pm

    Hehe was the text changed after bhagpuss’ reply, or is there some reference I just didn’t catch? 🙂

  5. Hagu October 14, 2015 / 9:50 am

    I shan’t run these groups so I will never experience the quality of the loot itself but Wildstar does a very nice job of the aesthetics of gathering loot.

    But I must defend poor old LotRo which is the only MMO I know where “autoloot” actually automatically loots, not a “still have to click but we will save you some extra clicks” So for me LotRO loot is preferred over all others.

  6. Syp October 14, 2015 / 10:13 am

    Hagu — I ADORE auto-loot. All games need it.

Leave a Reply

