WildStar: Medic vs. Engineer

medicSometimes I feel as though I’m in a tug-o-war between my two preferred classes in WildStar, with the Engineer on one side and the Medic on the other. Both are constantly calling out for my attention and affection, and as soon as I gravitate to one I start missing the other.

I probably wouldn’t even look back at the Medic if my Engineer was more solid in the combat department. I don’t get how a pet class with a ranged weapon can be as frustrating as this one is, but somehow Carbine managed it. I’m still struggling to lock down a rotation that pumps out good DPS without being annoying.

Part of the problem is that Engies rely on what’s called being “in the zone” as a core mechanic for many skills. This means that some skills are simply better or accessible, period, if your vitality is somewhere between 30 and 70. Since vitality is almost always going up and down, this can be tricky, especially if you’re loathe like I am to constantly be flicking your eyes from the center of the screen to the bottom of it. I guess addons could help in this department, although I haven’t been able to get any of my mods to work yet. But past that, I just don’t like the whole zone notion.

So I’ve tried really hard to fashion a build that isn’t as dependent on staying in the zone as a rotation. I’ve even gotten one to work, more or less, as it quickly builds up vitality to the max so that I can just spray electrocute like some sort of demented Ghostbuster. But to tell the truth, electrocute — even with chain lightning — isn’t my favorite of skills.

But I’m certainly loathe to give up my Engie, since “pets” and “level 50” and “money maker” and “new unseen zones” are all part of the equation. So I’m thinking of trying to divide my attention between her and my mid-level Medic. Out of all of the classes that I’ve played so far, the Medic is the least stressful and most satisfying in the combat arena. Right now I enjoy laying down three AoEs at the onset of the fight and then following up with some hard-hitting attacks punctuated by a stun when needed. I don’t have to worry about resources for the most part and can take down groups fairly easily.

Of course, she has a long, long way to go in her journey to 50. I’ve accumulated scads of crafting mats for either my Medic or my Engineer to use for architect (probably my Medic) and am trying to figure out what’s safe to sell for profit on the auction house without shooting myself in the foot later on. Like rune stuff — how much do I need to keep? I’d love to be able to rake in some money as I level but I’m afraid of not having the endgame runes that I’ll need later on.

I was a little bummed that I couldn’t transfer renown from my Engie to my Medic — I had well over 500k going on. But then I went to the renown vendor in Thayd and had a shopping spree instead, buying tons of decor and even a complete sawbones outfit (above right, with an arm cast costume piece that I found in a discovery). Then I mailed the decor to my Medic and felt really at peace with the world.

So maybe I need to cater to both sides of the fence, to accept that it’s part of the weird balance that I’m creating in WildStar to be happy. I won’t abandon my Engie, but will probably run the occasional expedition/adventure with her on top of casual questing while pouring more attention into my Medic. Last night I plowed through two of the Drusara instances on the latter, checking those off so that I could return to Whitevale and finish up matters there.

5 thoughts on “WildStar: Medic vs. Engineer

  1. Hagu October 14, 2015 / 10:11 am

    My main is Eng and alt is Medic but embarrassingly lower levels due to leveling slowly.

    But I like the econ in MMOs. So re “sell for profit on the auction house without shooting myself in the foot later on.” Non-EVE MMO economies tend to crash pretty quickly. So even if you need ten widgets in the future, if you can sell them for 25g now and buy them for 10g when you need them, then selling now is still the correct answer.

  2. ChaosConstant October 14, 2015 / 10:37 am

    There’s no worse feeling than getting to the level cap and realizing your class isn’t quite right for you. I hope you can find a build that you like.
    I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels like I should like the Engineer but somehow I just don’t. I haven’t been around the community to get a feel for people’s attitudes toward the classes. Is this a common problem? Do a lot of people feel like the Engineer could be a fun class but is too complicated to be worth it?
    Personally, I’m having a blast with my medic as well. I actually feel like I have more survivability on the medic than I do on my tank spec warrior. Give me a DoTs and HoTs class over big numbers any day.

  3. Isey October 14, 2015 / 11:13 am

    I am both at level 20 with my Esper and Medic, and love both. My screwup was having both on Dominion side. I’d feel better about levelling both to 50 if I was getting both stories.

  4. Tyler F.M. Edwards October 14, 2015 / 3:00 pm

    I have something of a similar dilemma with my monk and my rogue in WoW, actually.

    My rogue is my longest played and most beloved character. She’s collected all kinds of awesome transmog gear, and I have so many memories with her, and she’s just a big bundle of nostalgia.

    But my monk can tank, she has a more satisfying rotation, she has cooler spell effects. Really anything my rogue can do, my monk can do better.

    Sigh.

  5. Chestnut Stonebough (@ggchestnut) October 15, 2015 / 2:23 pm

    I’ll poke our main Engi in guild for what his build is, if you’re interested. πŸ™‚ Honestly, I feel like Engi are the class that needs the most love, right now. Especially in the dps department. I’m glad you’ve been enjoying the game so much, though! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

