Retro Gaming: Pool of Radiance part 5

h1

(This is part of my journey going checking out Pool of Radiance. You can follow the entire series on the Retro Gaming page.)

I have to say, the random encounter rate in the slums is absolutely nutty. Every three or four steps, I bump into yet another roving Orc, Kobold, or Goblin patrol, to the point where I haven’t been able to get more than four rooms from the entrance before I have to return to rest due to battle damage. At least we’re ripping things up!

h2

Back out in the city, we head to an inn and rest up. Apparently everyone in the party gains one hit point back for every day of rest, which means that bringing back a person from unconsciousness could mean a week-and-a-half stay at the Medieval Marriott. At least you only get charged for the initial rent, not per-day.

Afterward, we head to a shop to see what can be done about poor George Michael. Some people in the comments last week suggested that he wasn’t able to use a bow because he was a halfling, which used to be a D&D rule. So I went with a sling instead to hopefully keep him well out of the way of combat.

h3

Operation: Sling Wimp is a success — George Michael actually helps out in combat while not dying for once. Meanwhile, we press on deeper into the slums looking for secrets and encounters.

According to the adventure book, I’ll have completed the quest to clear out the slums after 15 random encounters. I haven’t been counting them, but I’m pretty sure I’ve done near or more than that so far. Maybe the random encounters keep on coming even after you’re done? I hope the game lets me know.

h4

So… you’re an affluent magician who just so happens to live in the slums? What’s your story then?

Oh well, at least he gives me a quest to get him a potion from somewhere else in the slums. Will do, Gandalf! Would hate for you to have to leave your giant posh empty room!

Elsewhere, we find treasure hidden in the stables (because why not?), magic bracers on some kobolds, and a giant chest brimming with tons of cash. Jackpot!

h5

Revel in that amazing game art! Who says you can’t have a career as an artist who uses MS Paint?

h6

A gypsy tells us this incredibly helpful fortune. Um, could you be a WEE bit more specific there, lady? Because that could apply to literally everything in life and video games.

2 thoughts on “Retro Gaming: Pool of Radiance part 5

  1. Sandsnake October 17, 2015 / 12:40 pm

    Really like your Pool of Radiance series! It inspired me to finally start my first play-through of another D&D classic: Baldur’s Gate 1. I just completed chapter 4. Enjoying it a lot, so far!

Leave a Reply

