How Syp got his WildStar groove back

It wasn’t that long ago that I was grousing here about how frustrated I was with my Engineer — my sole level 50 in WildStar — and ready to toss her in the dump heap to focus on my Medic for good. But time has a way of taking something bad and gradually turning it around, and in the intervening week or two, I’ve not only found my footing with the class, but also with the endgame in general.

So what happened?

First up was tackling the issue of my build. I don’t know about you, but if I’m not happy with my battle rotation and skills I’m using, then I’m not happy at all in these combat-centric games. RIFT was great in that it allowed me to really whip up a huge variety of builds from scratch, but there is an echo of that choice in WildStar too.

So I sat down and decided to work with the tools that I was given to make the type of character that I wanted to play — not one that was necessarily the most DPS-optimized, but suited to me. And right off the bat I wanted to shy away from the annoying “in the zone” mechanic with volatility and using bio shell. Instead, I decided to make a build that was incredibly simple that I could sum it up in two steps:

  1. Constantly be firing a tier-8 pulse blast in combat
  2. Using any instant-cast skill that did damage or utility without interrupting pulse blast

It’s a weird build. I don’t have any volatility spenders AT ALL. I use energy auger, zap, assault bot, obstruct vision, repair bot, quick blast, and volatile injection (and my +assault gadget as well as my exosuit). There are interrupts in there. The repair bot really helps keep shields up. Couple of nice boosters as well.

Maybe I’m not hitting all of the best DPS skills, but it really works for me. It’s low-stress in combat and allows me a massive alpha strike (hitting all seven, eight abilities rapidly in a row is a blast). And I actually have been doing all right for myself, often getting #1 in damage in vet expeditions. I find that pulse blast, while fairly boring, has that great cone range to hit many targets in a chaotic situation. Not having to worry about volatility allows me to just focus on the fight and positioning.

OK, so that was the issue with my build, solved. What else changed?

The second factor was finally getting a handle on what I was supposed to/wanted to do as a level 50. I think we all experience that endgame shock to varying degrees when we ding that last level, and I had been wallowing about without much purpose as a fresh 50 for a while now (well, not so fresh…).

Over the past week several little things started to click and I began to see the picture of what I wanted to do at 50. The first was to continue to run veteran expeditions — I really love these and they are so much less stressful than full-on dungeons. I used my renown from several runs to buy a full set of I60 gear (no more greens for me!) and have been eyeing the more expensive set of I68 (I think) that’s sold by the veteran adventure vendor.

I started doing contracts. I went through the Crimson Badlands and Northern Wastes dailies zones and loved both. For the first time, I fully capped my weekly elder gem count and started raking in so much money past that. I even got enough to buy a month of CREDD if I wanted (I didn’t). I’m looking at veteran adventures more now that I have better gear and feel more confidant in my build.

And I’m finally getting to do what I’ve wanted to for a while now, which is to concentrate on my house and the architect tradeskill. More on that in another post, but it’s coming along!

Having money feels great. Having things to do is even better. I can’t wait until I max out my contracts reward track and get that purple chest at the end. I even enjoyed a week’s worth of dual events, although I might be done with Shade’s Eve (there are no more rewards I really want).

And I might even be getting settled enough to start taking an Esper up through the ranks as well…

5 thoughts on “How Syp got his WildStar groove back

  1. ironweakness October 26, 2015 / 10:41 am

    I love that picture of your character. the colors in the skyline against the costume is great. Glad you’ve found your “groove” with the end game and your build. It seems like for you, landing on a character and staying with it has been more challenging with this game than with others, any thoughts on why? I had a similar experience when I played last fall but I’m not sure why that is, why it was so difficult to stay the course rather than hop between classes, paths, and even races.

    I returned a week or two ago and started over with a Chua Esper and it’s been a fun class, I think you’ll like it. I’ve even done a little healing. I think (or at least I hope) I’ll stick with this character and will make it to end game this time. I really want to be back in end game with an MMO, it’s been awhile since I’ve done more than leveling.

  2. Syp October 26, 2015 / 11:19 am

    Thanks! I’m actually swimming there.

    The character question has been mostly about finding a build/playstyle that is interesting to me for the long haul and isn’t too complex or fiddly. Plus I am of the type to always be looking with interest at everything I’m not playing, so that didn’t help.

  3. jason wolcott (@woolydub) October 26, 2015 / 12:00 pm

    That’s super cool man! I only have a lowly level 14 Spellslinger but I really like it. The game is growing on me. I got my housing plot and can’t wait to start crafting stuff for it. Glad you are enjoying your main and the things that the game is presenting you to do with it.

  4. Chestnut Stoneboo! (@ggchestnut) October 26, 2015 / 12:55 pm

    Glad you found your groove! And that you’re starting to feel better about the end-game. 😀 Looking forward to hearing about your housing adventures! ^_^

  5. ironweakness October 26, 2015 / 1:19 pm

    I can relate to that. My last and highest level character was a warrior, I made it to 30 with him. Every time I’m in a group with someone playing that class I think, “hmmm, I kind of miss that playstyle…”

    But now that I’ve played as a Chua, I don’t think I could go back to being any other race and for some reason the little psychopathic furballs can’t be warriors.

Leave a Reply

