SWTOR: I have a good feeling about this

pew1

Is anyone else wearing out their screenshot key with the new SWTOR expansion? Because I can’t stop hitting mine.

About the only bad thing of Knights of the Fallen Empire is my worry that I’m going through it too fast. I’m already in Chapter 6, and that’s taking it the Syp pokey route. And it is so good that I do not want these adventures to end. It really feels like a return to BioWare’s top storytelling form, with humor, surprises, goosebump moments, interesting new characters, and a gripping narrative.

Fortunately, I was told by my friend Larry that the end of Chapter 9 doesn’t mean that we will be spinning our wheels until Chapter 10 comes out in January. Apparently there’s a whole bunch of new endgame activities to do, including revamped and additional dungeons and a companion collecting system. I’m down with that. I would hate to pick back up my Agent only to abandon her to the void a couple of weeks later.

pew2

I have had to shut off general chat because people can be so spoiler-happy in there. And I won’t be dropping any major story beats here, as much as I’m really dying to talk about a few things.

But in general, I’m really liking how the expansion is taking us out of our comfort zones and giving us a different type of experience altogether. I haven’t seen my ship in a week. I’m much more aware of the key villains and am getting to know them more from a variety of perspectives.

pew3

And one of my most requested features of SWTOR for ages now has been kinda answered — my companions are having a lot more interaction with each other. I still can’t take more than one out at a time and listen to them talk/argue (or as HK calls it, “meatbag bickering), but there are scads of cutscenes in which dialogue reigns supreme.

BioWare really touted how choices will have more of an impact this time around and I’m still waiting to see how that plays out. I think the reason that I choose things isn’t necessarily what the devs/game figured are the important factors (no, BioWare, I do not like Lana and am never, ever going to be nice to and/or save her).

So hopefully I’ll finish up the current storyline within the next week and see what’s next for my Agent. It’ll be really interesting to go back through this expansion with a different character, I think.

3 thoughts on “SWTOR: I have a good feeling about this

  1. Rowan October 27, 2015 / 9:22 am

    Granted that they’re not all from KotFE, I have almost 6000 BMPs (thanks free Fraps) in my SWTOR folder. I need to convert them all to JPGs, but so far I have only done the ones I need for IHTtS. I missed getting a shot of Glember’s look of shock when tagging along on Scooter’s story, haven’t reached quite that part on my own Morrenia.

  2. Asmiroth October 27, 2015 / 10:43 am

    Would it be fair to say that the hero engine received a rather big update with this expansion? All the pics & videos I see seem to have a much more lively look to them. It’s sort of how watching movies with my two kids, Toy Story 1 and 3 are just…it’s amazing how better animation makes it more engrossing.

    I’m getting a SWTOR itch…

  3. Rowan October 27, 2015 / 1:10 pm

    @Asmiroth, yes the facial expressions are miles ahead of anything in previous expansions. Even Syp’s frenemy Lana Beniko got a major upgrade from her rather odd look in Shadow of Revan.

Leave a Reply

