Thoughts on the new Star Trek TV series announcement

eden

If the new Star Trek series isn’t about adventures of space hippies, I ain’t watching!

Just kidding, I would totally watch that.

Anyway, as you might have heard, CBS announced that there’s a new Star Trek series in the works for January 2017 that will mostly be shown on its (paid) digital platform. We don’t know a lot about it, other than it won’t be connected to the movies directly, it will be about exploration and a new crew, and it’ll be exec produced by one of the new movie writers. But that’s about it.

I’m actually really geeked about the whole prospect. I’ve been wanting a new Star Trek show for a while now — can you believe that it’s been a decade since we last had one on the air that wasn’t in syndication? Enough time has passed to let the franchise rejuvenate and prepare for the next generation, and with new blood and talent and vision, it could be something exciting.

I’ve had a long and mixed history with Star Trek. The original series and TNG were fixations that helped me get through very difficult high school years, but I started to grow distant from it all in college and only sporadically watched since then. There are parts of Trek that I love and parts that are eye-rolling. In the end — Voyager, Enterprise — the show started cannibalizing its own stories and sacrificing real character depth and development for stilted interactions, cheap marketing ploys (catsuits, anyone?), and too much technobabble.

Over the past few years I’ve really enjoyed listening to Scifi Debris give excellent and humorous commentary through all of the series, giving credit where it is due while savaging the dumber aspects of Trek. But his analysis and my listening don’t come from a mean vantage point, but one of a desire to see the franchise do its best.

So there are lots of questions everyone has about what the new series will be (and plenty of uninformed “facts” floating around too). Will it be in the prime universe or the new movie timeline or a complete reboot? Unlike some fans holding a torch for some Worf or Riker series — because who wouldn’t want to see older, chubby guys reprise a role from 20 years ago? — I’m glad it’ll be something fresh.

My preferences are pretty simple. A starship-based show, for starters. A strong emphasis on exploration. More realism. Interesting characters that are allowed to have friction and conflict. Fun technology. I’d like to go further into the future than Nemesis, if we’re still in the prime universe.

Star Trek Online has to be jumping for joy over this announcement — no matter what the new series will be, the game can only benefit from the increased attention and excitement over the franchise. And if there are new ships and storylines, who knows?

8 thoughts on “Thoughts on the new Star Trek TV series announcement

  1. Tyler F.M. Edwards November 3, 2015 / 2:37 pm

    The fact that it’s being run by one of the guys behind the new films and the Michael Bay Transformers movies leaves me with very little hope.

    I don’t like being overly negative, but I really don’t see the new show being the intellectual sci-fi I expect from Trek. Maybe I’ll be wrong; we’ll see.

  2. Rowan November 3, 2015 / 4:55 pm

    It interests me, but not enough to play CBS’ subscription game.It’ll come out on DVD or Netflix eventually. Like Tyler, I am also leery of Kurtzman and his ties to the recent film reboot. While and entertaining, both movies are full of details and “homages” that ended up simply being a rehash of prior, better done stories. But at least they didn’t hand it Roberto Orci.

  3. talismanAU November 3, 2015 / 6:07 pm

    If they hire good writers. Don’t skimp on the budget. Don’t overuse blue screens making it look cheap and for the sake of all that is Trekkie don’t overuse temporal storylines (unless it’s something awesome like Yesterday’s Enterprise then only 1 per season). They have 5 different Trek TV shows they can draw what worked and what didn’t (plus all the movies) I hope they don’t just dial it in. They can make a mint if done right there is huge gap for a weekly high production Trek show to inspire the next generation of scientists and astronauts

  4. wolfyseyes November 3, 2015 / 10:51 pm

    I kind of hope this one carves its own niche instead of trying to reiterate on prior successes. I agree, though, that the point should be a starship on a deep mission of exploration and the things that happen to and around them along the way. That, in my view, is Trek at its best.

  5. Izlain November 4, 2015 / 12:39 am

    I’d watch a new Trek. TNG is still by far my all-time favorite, but I’d like to see something completely new.

  6. ZombiePirate November 4, 2015 / 5:34 am

    Sticking it behind a paywall is a mistake in my mind, especially one with as little prominence as CBS, put in on Netflix or Amazon Prime and yes, not an issue, but some obscure sub service that I don’t even think is available outside the US? No. It’s life Jim, but not as we know it.

  7. Gamera977 November 4, 2015 / 8:30 am

    Well, I used to be a big fan back in day of the TOS, TNG, and DS9 but I couldn’t care any less here. Berman, Braga, and Moore beat Trek half to death and tossed it in a hole, Abrams drove the final stake though it’s heart. As bad as Voyager and Enterprise were the remake movies were some of the most gawd-awful things I’ve ever seen. The last one was one of the five worst movies I’ve ever had the misfortune to watch. I wish the guys at STO had a chance at a series, they’ve been doing better work with more love and respect for the series than anything Hollywood has done for years. And yeah, I too won’t pay extra for it.

  8. Pasduil November 7, 2015 / 3:39 pm

    I’m feeling about the same as when I heard TNG was going to be made. Half-excited, and half-apprehensive, thinking on the one hand “Wow” More Trek, all-new!” and on the other “No way can they replicate what it was, and maybe they’ll ruin all my lovely memories in the process!”

    Here’s hoping it turns out as well this time around!

Leave a Reply

