Retro Gaming: Master of Magic part 5

rubi1

(This is part of my journey going checking out Master of Magic. You can follow the entire series on the Retro Gaming page.)

Right from the get-go this gaming session I’m offered the chance to hire a new hero. So let’s see who is chatting up my Twitter feed right now… it’s Rubi! OK, Rubi, you’re now a healer with a gaudy pearl necklace. Don’t stand in the fire.

rubi2

I also get the opportunity to buy a Wand of Arcanus, which for the life of me sounds like a prop from a D&D parody movie. No, I’m not going to drop 750 gold on your wand, dude. Look at that guy! He’s totally shady.

rubi3

There’s a simple joy to seeing your towns grow over time in this game. There’s some basic animation too, and the pixel art is pretty charming. Here we see that Weakness has become one of my powerhouse cities, churning out new buildings every few turns.

rubi4

I’m so clever! I use my ship to form a sort of bridge between my continent and this new one that I’m trying to frantically settle. Works like a charm!

Settlers stream over to the new landmass and I quickly found the town of Ardwulf. Rubi trots over to be its defense, I hire a thief named Belghast (who is a rather attractive lady), and Weakness starts churning out bowmen to send to each of my cities. Can’t neglect building up a strong defense!

Soon enough, I build a second city on the new continent, FilthyCasual. Whew! Empire building is hard work!

One thought on “Retro Gaming: Master of Magic part 5

  1. Belghast November 7, 2015 / 9:02 am

    During the early 90s this was pretty much my favorite game 🙂 So I approve! I had all manner of boot disks that would do various madness but I never could seem to free up enough memory to have both a mouse AND sound >.>

Leave a Reply

