Retro Gaming: Master of Magic part 6

bear1

(This is part of my journey going checking out Master of Magic. You can follow the entire series on the Retro Gaming page.)

We start out today’s session with a dire event: Two bears have wandered down the hills and decided to attack my heavily fortified town of Ranni. It’s bear-ly a fight, as the critters are massacred.

bear2

I found the last two towns on the new continent: Murf and Mogsy. I spend a lot of gold to give them a boost, with spearmen and starter buildings. I have four cities on the second continent, bringing my total to 12. Hopefully, I’m outpacing my computer rivals nicely now.

I think I’m all settled out for now, so I’m going to focus on two projects: to build a fleet of ships to map out the world, and to build up an army to conquer all of these NPC nodes that are around the place. War bear summoning commence!

bear3

“Sir, don’t you think we have enough bears at this point? They’re crapping everywhere!”

“Shut your face hole, corporal! One can never have enough bear calvary!”

bear4

As my navy begins mapping the world, I quickly bump into another rival. Don’t know her name, but by the looks of her, she’s the CEO of a goth makeup corporation.

Can we trick or treat well together, lady? Because I think you’re already prepared for October 31st.

A turn later, Kali here declares war on me. Just because. Aw, and here I was hoping we would be bestest of friends!

2 thoughts on “Retro Gaming: Master of Magic part 6

  1. ZombiePirate November 9, 2015 / 5:34 am

    Prepare for Bear combat!

  2. Venzur November 9, 2015 / 6:09 pm

    Just a quick tip for an easy low cost, right out of the gate scout — Magic Spirit! The same one used to meld with conquered nodes. Can fly, so oceans are not an issue. I usually summon one in the first few turns and explore away — can be used to gobble up any of the non-guarded dungeons and such.
    Also if you say ‘no’ on the do you wish to enter prompt on any said dungeon – can use the Surveyor (F1) anytime thereafter to mouse hover over the dungeon to see what you were told was lurking inside upon the initial discover.
    Thanks for highlighting this classic!

Leave a Reply

