Bio Break revamp (!) and gaming plans

bigger

Announcement: Site revamp!

If you visit the site (instead of getting these posts via RSS reader) you might notice that it’s looking a tad bit different than it has for the past five years. After a few weeks of internal deliberation, I pulled the cord on giving the blog a visual overhaul and switching to a new theme.

So instead of Twenty Twelve, I’m now using Hemingway Rewritten. It solves a few issues I had with the old theme, namely giving me a bigger header, a wider main column for posts/pics (676 pixels vs. 584), and keeping the sidebar active if someone is reading a particular post.

Along with switching themes, I’m redoing all of my headers. I wanted to create a blog with visual consistency, so instead of the weird mish-mash of headers I used to have, this time I’m going with the same font and sticking to one type of graphic: MMO concept art. It’s weird, but I love concept art. I use it a lot in Massively OP posts, and felt like doing it here, too. So I made a list of all of the MMOs that I played over the years and am looking up loading screens, wallpapers, and other pieces of concept art to make into banners. So far I’ve only gotten WildStar done with a splash of LOTRO and Fallen Earth.

My pages need some new graphics to them (bigger ones, particularly in the case of the MMO timeline). I am also going to be splitting the Retro Gaming page into two, keeping Retro Gaming for my weekend series and restoring Nostalgia Lane for that occasional series.

Gaming Plans

Real life (i.e. incoming child) is about to laugh at any gaming plans that I’m going to make here, so huge grain of salt and all of that. But here are a few things that I’d like to be exploring for the rest of 2015:

  • WildStar: My main goal right now is to max out architecture, continue to accumulate housing decor, and really work up both my house and my fun (haunted) house. Doing dailies, contracts, adventures, and expeditions on the side for fun and money to support my habit as well.
  • SWTOR: I slowed down on chapter 9 on my Agent, so I need to pick her back up and see how much work needs to be done here. My Smuggler’s been crying for attention, but I don’t want to split my attention right now.
  • Marvel Heroes: My next get-to-level-60 character is Cable. No huge love for him, but gunning and running seems kind of fun.
  • RIFT: I loaded this back up last week and am tinkering around with the notion of an all-instant adventure character. Maybe. Maybe.
  • The Secret World: Perhaps it’s time to get back to my playthrough character? It’s been a while. Kind of miss this game.
  • Pillars of Eternity: I’ve reinstalled this on my main computer and want to start over with a new game and go through the whole thing, including the new expansion. The sorta-recent patch looks like it added some nice quality of life features, including party members activating their own skills, so that could be great.
  • Fallout 4: Yup, I have it and will definitely be diving into it soon. I always kind of regret that I never finished Fallout 3 (what happened there? I don’t remember). Really, I just want to explore the wasteland.

I have SO MUCH on my plate for retro gaming. Following Master of Magic, I’m torn on what to do, but there are a few strong candidates for the next entry. Thief is a possibility (never played it, it’s a classic), I just got Alone in the Dark (scared the pants off of me as a kid), and Star Control 2 should be played at some point in my life. Then there are tons of sequels… my GOG library is 182 titles, and so far I’ve covered… um… 30 of them. And that’s not even mentioning the 57 titles on my wish list too.

I have a problem. First step is blogging about it.

11 thoughts on “Bio Break revamp (!) and gaming plans

  1. Wilhelm Arcturus November 10, 2015 / 9:44 am

    There might be such a thing as too wide. I don’t full screen my browser, and when I hit the site it declared itself in the header as “io Break.”

  2. Syp November 10, 2015 / 10:01 am

    I like the moon!

  3. Wilhelm Arcturus November 10, 2015 / 10:03 am

    Then why do you seek a break from it? Also, on the flip side, I see “Bio Brea” on other headers. I guess I am just narrow minded, what with my old 4:3 monitor.

  4. P. Mersault November 10, 2015 / 10:30 am

    Full Screen, i don’t see the title at all (“Bio Break”). As another suggestion, the blue text (Cyan?) on the sidebar is a bit too bright on white background, for my taste. Other than that, i like it- looks more modern and the header stands out a bit more.

  5. Tanek November 10, 2015 / 10:56 am

    The header seems to be scaling height and width. When I have my browser at its normal size, all looks fine. If I fullscreen, the ‘Bio Break’ text is off my screen. I really like the header images you have chosen, though. 🙂

    As for all those games, you seem to manage to squeeze more into limited time than anyone else I’ve seen. I wish my brain could manage that, but I know I’d spend half my time just relearning controls when I switch games.

  6. Rowan November 10, 2015 / 11:00 am

    Are any themes, what do they call it, adaptive? Responsive? So those of us with wide screens can utilize them and Wilhelm can still see everything on his 4:3. I have a 4:3 monitor at work but at 1280×1024, I have no trouble seeing the whole banner.

  7. Shintar November 10, 2015 / 1:56 pm

    There’s supposed to be text up there? 1920×1080 resolution here and I see only images in the header… after refreshing a few times I got the Protostar guy, where I see the word “Break” and nothing else. I liked the quirkiness of the old headers, but I appreciate the need to change things up every so often.

  8. Wilhelm Arcturus November 10, 2015 / 3:58 pm

    Also, you don’t want to know what I see on the iPad. Have you enabled the mobile version of you blog?

  9. Syp November 10, 2015 / 5:59 pm

    Mobile is now turned on — I thought it was by default, but I guess not!

  10. Particlebit November 10, 2015 / 8:42 pm

    I like the overhaul, very clean and modern.

  11. wolfyseyes November 10, 2015 / 9:59 pm

    So, yea….first thing I did when I loaded up the new site? Hit F5 a buncha times to see the header images cycle.

    Sorry if I’m screwing with your metrics. XD

Leave a Reply

