Fallout 4: Luck be a lady tonight

f4

As I indicated yesterday, I did decide to go ahead and reroll my Fallout 4 character about three hours into the game now that I had a better feel for the systems and what I wanted to do with her build. The main difference is that I’ve given her max (10) luck and will be focusing on luck perks because… why not? I like the idea of a super-lucky lady wandering around the apocalypse.

I did invest in a perk to find more ammo, because you always need more ammo. I’ll be trying to resist other perks for the limited future as I invest into my main stats more. I want every main stat to be at least at a 5 for a more well-rounded character. Then I can start having fun with perks.

Last night I mostly retraced my steps from the day previous, gearing up my character and completing a few quests. I did go one step beyond my previous progress by completing a mission for a local farmer who wanted his daughter’s locket back from some meanie raiders at a radar station some distance away.

Dogmeat and I trotted over there and stumbled upon a little camp of raiders in the middle of the night. I am no sporting person: I shot them all as they were scrambling to get up out of their sleeping bags.

Let me tell you that Dogmeat is a great companion — he throws himself into combat and cannot die (although he can be knocked out of the duration of a particular fight). I like sending him in to soften up the enemy before I charge into the fray.

I was ecstatic to get my hands on some shotguns finally, as those are my preferred weapon of choice in the wasteland. I’m going to have to head back and mod one out soon.

Next up on the docket is to explore Concord and see what glorious loot awaits me there!

6 thoughts on “Fallout 4: Luck be a lady tonight

  1. Carla Harker (@DeadlyAccurate) November 12, 2015 / 12:14 pm

    Do you know how to scroll down the perk tree? I’ve tried scroll wheel, page down, arrow keys, even S, but I can’t figure out how to see the whole tree.

  2. Syp November 12, 2015 / 12:31 pm

    It scrolls down for me when I put the cursor at the bottom of the screen. Weird!

  3. Chordian November 12, 2015 / 1:54 pm

    You can also hold down the right mouse button and drag.

    And there’s a lot of holding down keys for a second or two in the game. Hold down R to holster your weapon. Hold down TAB for Pipboy flashlight. And hold down E to exit the power armor.

  4. Lance Latham November 13, 2015 / 5:34 am

    About 8 hours in now, myself. I’ve put 9 points into Luck, knowing that I’ll come across the Luck bobblehead at some point. Haven’t put too many points into Luck perks just yet but I want to start. Never had much Luck in my Fallout 3 characters. Interested to see what happens.

    Going to make a new character, though. Want to make another build of a character that I usually never play (usually I’m all about balance). Thinking that if I play the two characters side by side, I can see how different the experiences are.

  5. Llokki November 13, 2015 / 6:45 am

    Ah ha! So that’s what that quest locket in my inventory is for. I’ll have to track down this farmer…

    I’ve gone for an intellect focused character myself. Science, hacking, rad weapons and nerd rage for the win!

Leave a Reply

