Retro Gaming: Master of Magic part 7

mom1

(This is part of my journey going checking out Master of Magic. You can follow the entire series on the Retro Gaming page.)

So my previous Master of Magic session got cut short because I got a call from my wife saying that she was heading into the hospital to give birth. And while that turned out to be a false alarm, I forgot to save my most recent progress in my haste to get to the hospital. So I lost a few turns… but I think I shall manage to recover. Let’s see if I can tick off Kali again by just exploring the map.

mom2

Yup! Best of friends we are, most definitely.

See, this is one of the aspects of 4X games that I really dislike: diplomacy. It never seems to work, no matter how recent the game. The computer is just too wonky and unreliable to try to reason with, unless you know the system intimately and can game it. Make an ally one turn, and they are your worst enemy the next. Explore waters, some crazy witch declares war on you.

Kali sends a magic spirit after one of my ships, but I use a couple of my spells (healing, stone armor) to win the day. She retaliates by sending two ships to beat up my one.

mom3

War bears? Pshaw, those were so last week. I got a basilisk now, baby!

Of course, it’s probably going to turn my entire army into stone, so that’s a problem.

ex1

One of the features that I dearly miss from more modern MMOs is the ability to order a unit to automatically explore the world. Having to click on where these ships should go every turn is such… a… pain.

Someone suggested that I use magic spirits, since they can travel fast over land and water. Sounds great, but I’m pretty sure that I don’t have those in my summoning book. I’m a pretty poor wizard.

ex2

For the life of me, she looks like she’s the leader of a sorority. Why can’t any of these other wizards greet me with a, “Hey, you look pretty cool, want to come over to my place for fondue? Why don’t we team up against all of the other wizards and rule the world together!”

Because I am always down for fondue.

ex3

Good news everyone! Braxwolf is back! Fear his crazy eye!

ex4

Another player appears on the scene. Rjak sends a fearsome army of… um… cute little sprites against one of my towns. I web the sprites, because I’m part Spider-Man, and my archers take them out with ease.

So, Rjak… fondue? No?

In the midst of the most adorable offensive ever, I move a settler onto another island and establish the hamlet of Chestnut. Hope she doesn’t mind that it’s at the foothills of a volcano!

2 thoughts on “Retro Gaming: Master of Magic part 7

  1. Venzur November 14, 2015 / 1:05 pm

    I agree – Auto-explore is something taken for granted until you don’t have it! Mild tedium for sure.

    Also — Magic Spirit is one of the two spells that each and every wizard possesses as soon as the game begins (the other is the Spell of Return).

    again thanks for highlighting this classic and congrats on the new addition to the family!

  2. wolfyseyes November 15, 2015 / 4:50 pm

    I think more 4X games would be a lot better at a diplomacy game if fondue were involved.

Leave a Reply

