Gaming while side-slinging a newborn

babygamer

Obviously, the above is a spitting image of me this week. Except that my beard is nowhere that epic. And my kid is about 1/3rd that size. And I am not an artist working on some giant monitor/stylus setup. And my room is not that white. And there is not a bicycle trying to ambush me in the upper-right-hand corner.

But otherwise — totally my life right now.

We’re still getting adjusted to having a newborn in the house once again. It’s not unfamiliar territory, but it’s been three years and you forget a lot of what it’s like in the first few weeks and months. The interrupted sleep is by far the most brutal part. My wife is still recovering physically so I’m trying to take nights with the kid as much as possible, which means that if I have five hours of sleep, it’s a good day for me.

Another thing that I’m rediscovering is what I can and cannot do when I’m holding the baby in one arm and only have my right hand free for computer stuff. Web surfing and Netflix watching? No problem. Writing? Not so much.

Gaming is very tricky. My son has been a blessing for my WildStar crafting scene, because that’s pretty much all I can do in that game with just the mouse and one hand. I’ve maxed out my architect XP bar and gotten through the expert crafting tier. That last tier is really weird and I haven’t looked into how to unlock the various decor, but it’s on my to do list.

Obviously, action combat MMOs and games like Fallout 4 are not very conducive to one-handed gaming, even with a Naga gaming mouse. Doable, but not fun. Traditional MMOs might be more accessible, although probably the easiest are ones like Marvel Heroes that can be easily played with just the mouse. I’m really wishing that Devilian would launch already, because I’m eager to play that for real and it would work so well in my current situation.

It’s OK. I roll with the given situation on any day. I’ve already had nights where I have the time to game but sleep is far more important. Or nights where I just start getting into something and then my wife asks if I can take the baby for a few hours. No problem. I’m glad I’m not on the hook for any scheduled group activities but can just enjoy MMOs casually and adjust sessions as needed.

3 thoughts on “Gaming while side-slinging a newborn

  1. carson63000 November 18, 2015 / 6:38 pm

    So, looking at the photo, what you’re basically saying is “I DO have a newborn baby, but I’m NOT a complete hipster”?

  2. Sylow November 19, 2015 / 5:29 am

    My saviour when i was reduced to playing with one arm was Diablo 2. The paladin can there can easily be set up to require only one 5 button mouse.

    I suspect the same is true for more than one class in more up to date Diablo clones or also Diablo 3. (I have neither, only Torchlight 2, where this would definitely also be possible. )

  3. FraidOfTheLight November 20, 2015 / 9:52 am

    When our little one was brand new, I found that the best games were either those which aren’t in real time, or those which are designed for easy and frequent pausing. So in my case, that meant Civ 5 and FTL.

    Next time around, I’m curious to see if Cities: Skylines might be playable with frequent pausing – but I’m also intrigued by MMO crafting. In this case, it’ll be FF XIV, as I’ve pretty mostly ignored crafting in that game.

Leave a Reply

