12 Days of Geekmas #1: Lord of the Rings (Online)

ring

Some other MMO bloggers turned me on to this holiday blogging exercise in which the community is commenting on twelve different fandoms and other geeky things, and looking over the list, I figured why not join in?

The first topic is Lord of the Rings, which is a natural fit with me and my long-running (but now on haitus) journey with Lord of the Rings Online. I started playing this MMO back at launch, took a couple years off, then was playing almost non-stop since 2010 and writing about it for Massively. It was only recently that I started to get burned out on both the game and the franchise as a whole and needed some time apart.

But that doesn’t rob me of some great memories in this game, both with people and with the amazing world that Turbine helped to create based on Tolkien’s books. I can say that my appreciation for LOTR is forever changed and expanded since playing the MMO — far more than I ever got from the films. I’ve never played an MMO with such world cohesion, and I’ll be forever pointing to LOTRO as an example of how a game based on an IP can actually foster a stronger game design due to the lore limitations. It rarely got silly or wacky or far-out, but from the Shire to Gondor felt like a single world through which my Captain and Lore-master journeyed.

I’ll always be amazed at the community that added to the world through its roleplaying, blogging, concerts, events, fashion shows, and general enthusiasm. I met a lot of terrific people and friends (who are also people) through LOTRO and am grateful for that.

Maybe one day I’ll go back. Maybe. It’s one of those titles that will be imprinted deep in my memory banks to the point where a random snippet of music will trigger an avalanche of nostalgia.

nerdy

2 thoughts on “12 Days of Geekmas #1: Lord of the Rings (Online)

  1. nerdyalerty December 1, 2015 / 4:47 pm

    Glad you could join! Happy to have you aboard! I’ve never played the MMO, but what I’ve seen of it, it looks awesome and beautiful!

  2. HarbingerZero December 1, 2015 / 6:16 pm

    Of General Interest: The 12 Geekmas Days must be completed the day before the 12 actual Days of Christmas begin.

    Of Interest Perhaps Only to Myself: Only 1 of the 12 franchises listed floats my boat. I am not a true geek. )-:

Leave a Reply

