10 MMOs I played this year, rated by enjoyment had

With 2015 wrapping up in a few weeks here, I wanted to look back at all of the MMOs I’ve played this year and sort them according to how much I enjoyed spending time in each of them (from most to least). Each of the games on this list represent at least several logins apiece — I’ll mention titles I dabbled in at the end.

1. WildStar

Without a doubt, WildStar was the most fun I’ve had this year in gaming. The business model change was welcome and infused the game with new players, but even before then I was having a blast leveling up characters, working on crafting, and (of course) building my houses. I finally got a character to level 50 — and a second character not too long after that!

2. Project Gorgon

Project Gorgon was the big surprise of the year for me. I know I haven’t talked about it a lot recently, and that’s mostly because I’m trying to hold off going all-in this title until it’s shored up a little more. But I love, love the creative systems and refreshing approach to MMOs, and I can’t wait to see what the finished product looks like. Also, this is the only MMO that let me play a full cow this year.

3. Star Wars: The Old Republic

SWTOR was a journey of ups and downs for me, starts and stops. But I did put in quite a few hours, leveled up a few toons (including one on the super-fast 12x experience train), and gushed over the expansion. Still need to catch up there, but I’m feeling like the game is taking a great direction as of late.

4. Marvel Heroes

Here’s a title I haven’t played much recently but I sure put in my time in 2015. Had so much fun playing Squirrel Girl and Doctor Doom, and I have SO, so many characters that are in need of leveling. When I need a game to feed my pet fixation, I go here.

5. The Secret World

TSW got less playtime from me this year overall, mostly because of fewer new missions. I should get back to working on my lowbie adventure series at some point, I know. However, any new quests that did come out, such as the Halloween one, was very welcomed and always a memorable experience.

6. RIFT

RIFT was (and is) a sometimes MMO for me. I played earlier this year and am dabbling in it now. It’s a great game if you need a cheaper World of Warcraft substitute, for sure.

7. LOTRO

I began the year dutifully taking my Captain through Gondor, but somewhere in the middle of 2015 I lost interest completely in LOTRO. It’s sad, because I did want to go the distance in this game (and who knows, I still might go back some day). But I felt pretty weary of it after many years in Middle-earth, so uninstalled it went.

8. Devilian

A half-dozen sessions into Devilian and I can say that while superficial, it’s a satisfying clicker game. The world looks terrific and the attacks/animations/sound effects are spot-on for an action-RPG. It might seem dumb, title and all, but I think there’s a good game here.

9. Path of Exile

Another recent title that I need more time with. I could see getting to like this game, but its skill tree and grim atmosphere is a little intimidating. We shall see.

10. Final Fantasy XIV

I gave FFXIV an honest try for a month this year, and while there certainly is a lot to admire about it (and a great blogger community in it), I had to concede that it’s just not my type of game. I can’t get past the aesthetic and Final Fantasyness of it all.

Dabblings

Of course, those aren’t the only 10 MMOs that got any time from me this year. I dabbled in several other games with one or two sessions apiece, including Villagers and Heroes, Anarchy Online, World of Warcraft, Star Trek Online, ArcheAge, Sword Coast Legends, RuneScape, Guild Wars 2, Elder Scrolls Online, and Trove.

6 thoughts on “10 MMOs I played this year, rated by enjoyment had

  1. DDOCentral December 11, 2015 / 12:31 pm

    Play Dungeons and Dragons Online again in early 2016. The 10th Anniversary event is in February.

  2. carson63000 December 11, 2015 / 6:39 pm

    Please don’t encourage the idea that “online game = massively multiplayer online game”.

    The letters “M” and “M” in “MMO” do actually mean something.

Leave a Reply

