FFXIV: Sampling all of the classes

ff1

It took me a couple of weeks, but I finally leveled each of the Final Fantasy XIV fighting classes to 15. At first it was a little slow, but then I refined my process to get a class done in a single evening. Want to know Syp’s slapdash guide to power-leveling classes without outside aid? Here you go:

  1. Go to the class trainer, get the level 1 quest, equip the weapons (and basic gear), and head out to the newbie land.
  2. Kill the mobs for the quest and then keep grinding mobs (and FATEs, if there are any) until you ding 5. This is ridiculously fast.
  3. Head back to the trainer, turn in the quest and get the level 5 class quest. Go do that.
  4. I was low on levequest allowances, so from 5-10 I did more grinding, FATEs, and any hunting log kills I could find.
  5. At level 10, I turned in the level 5 quest, did the level 10 quest, did the two hests, and did as many leves as possible (on as high of a difficulty level as I could) to power through a few levels. Usually I needed to hit up a few FATEs to finish it up.

ff2

It might have been a bit tedious and repetitive at times, but ultimately I’m glad I did it. I have a nice collection of cross-class skills for the time being and won’t have to worry about doing any of these secondary classes for a job. Doing all of this helped to familiarize myself with the three cities’ layouts and unlocks a lot of ports. It also helped me figure out what class I wanted to level — but before I do that, some notes on my impressions of each of the remainder of these classes in these low levels.

  • Gladiator: If you like sword-and-board combat and tanking, here you go. It had some nice meaty attacks, but I rarely go for this style of fighting, so it wasn’t really a contender.
  • Pugilist: Hand-to-hand fighting, super-fast. Felt very visceral and powerful, like wham-wham-wham-wham. Again, not really into monk-type characters, but I didn’t mind playing it.
  • Thaumaturge: I can go with caster classes if they diverge from the generic mage, but this is so painfully generic that I had such a hard time leveling it due to boredom. Ooh, fire attack! Ice attack! Please put me out of my misery.
  • Arcanist: This was the class I played last year when I tried FFXIV, mostly because it checks off a lot of my usual interests — pet, damage over time, freedom to branch out in the future. And it was fine, I guess, but standing there with a book didn’t look as awesome as wielding a big weapon. I might go back and do this class later on.
  • Rogue: Very flashy knife attacks and aerobics. I can see why people would like this for the razzmatazz.
  • Marauder: It’s weird to me that this class went with two-handed axes. Would have thought giant sword or something, but the “big axe” thing isn’t usually that popular in MMOs unless you’re super into playing dwarves. I did like a couple of the attacks tho.

ff3

Ultimately, I decided to go with a class that I had latched onto early on: the Lancer (Dragoon). It looks cool, has strong and visceral attacks, and has a nice batch of utility skills. I could do this.

So it was almost with relief that I put the whole 9-classes-to-15 experiment behind me and got back to leveling proper. Of course, there were a few things to do first…

ff4

…like collect a few dances by doing silly jigs with pirates…

ff5

…and take in a kitty and a puppy so that my son would stop pestering me that I had cruddy pets in this game.

All heroes should have a puppy, right? I’ll fashion him his own small suit of armor.

4 thoughts on “FFXIV: Sampling all of the classes

  1. magnethead January 11, 2016 / 9:08 am

    I guess Marauders use axes as, since they spend a lot of time on a boat, an axe is a more useful tool than a big sword.

    ( also Warrior is the very best job )

  2. Aywren January 11, 2016 / 9:10 am

    Welcome fellow Dragoon! It’s a strong class with a lot of fun attacks and a solid DPS rotation. Once you get the rotation down, you’ve got all you need to play the class well. 🙂

    Also, it’s good to level Dragoon as a basis for other DPS. Just about every melee and ranged psychical class needs the level 34 skill as a cross class skill for pushing the most DPS. So, if you get that behind you and decide to switch it up later, you’ll already have Blood for Blood under your belt.

    They saved the giant sword for Dark Knight. The whole axe thing makes more sense once you start working through the lore of the Warrior job.

  3. pkudude99 January 11, 2016 / 7:38 pm

    I’ve started working Dragoon again. Just hit 52 this past weekend.

    Just wait until you get into Heavensward and have 3 more jobs to play with… but they start at 30, so you won’t have to level them up all that far.

  4. wolfyseyes January 11, 2016 / 10:07 pm

    I love this rundown of the early classes. It’s always interesting to me to read people’s reactions and thoughts on the individual jobs.

    I’ve recently made a Lancer alt myself, so I’m looking forward to seeing how the job fares in your hands as well as my own. Happy lancing!

Leave a Reply

