WoW: The inner beauty of the Plaguelands

pal1

This past weekend I had another one of those moments of inner gaming crisis where I felt quite bad about abandoning World of Warcraft as part of my 2016 plan. I spent an afternoon torn on the issue, because there was no way I wanted to jettison FFXIV, but I still hated giving up on my shaman. Finally I came to the conclusion that WoW could be one of my two secondary games, especially if I push WildStar way on the backburner for now. The only thing I had to swallow was ponying up for two subscriptions, but to broker peace inside of me, that was not too much to ask.

So I picked back up where I left off with my Shaman in the middle of the Hinterlands. I’m not pursuing any sort of power-leveling plan, but merely following the quest chains and seeing where it leads those who start out near Ironforge. It looks like it keeps kicking you farther north.

Hinterlands was quickly done and I got orders to ship out to Western Plaguelands… which wasn’t quite what I expected.

pal2

Things I love about the Shaman #14: water walking (and galloping). There’s so much utility with this class.

Anyway, back in the day the two plagueland zones were not the most desirable questing locations. They were ugly, mob-packed areas with (as I recall) few quests and not much reason to hang around. That seems to have changed somewhat — Western Plaguelands is actually quite pretty for the most part, even though one of its towns is under assault by the Forsaken.

I blitzed through all of the quests in this zone, enjoying a few of the stories such as helping out a hapless Troll druid in training, uncovering a necromancer conspiracy in a human town, and fighting off some of the Valkyr.

pal3

Syp should always be surrounded by an NPC posse that’s willing to fight and die on my behalf.

OK, I know my model looks ten kinds of goofy with that gear, but I just dinged level 40 (and I’m not taking the fast-pass to the endgame, thank you — I’m earning my levels here) and will start to upgrade to mail armor shortly.

I almost feel like the Shaman is overpowered right now, as at-level mobs will go down in hit or two, particularly with stormstrike. It’s fun to feel like a bulldozer plowing through bad guys, and I have fun rounding up a bunch and then plopping down a magma totem and getting to work.

Oh! One of the quest rewards gave me a mace that looks like a frying pan with two sunnyside-up eggs in it, and I have vowed to keep and transmog this as much as possible. I love it so much. Frying pans, who knew? (apologies to Tangled)

pl1

A shining beacon of light in the middle of a dismal rainstorm…

pl2

Oh and getting a dolly (with flies?) for a lonely ghost girl is a perfect pick-me-up to any gaming session.

Sniff.

4 thoughts on “WoW: The inner beauty of the Plaguelands

  1. Isey January 14, 2016 / 10:54 am

    I didn’t even finish Mists of Pandaria and just bought Warlords (75% off) but still haven’t gone back. I always feel like I left WoW with so much unfinished business. Heck, at 100, I read I can solo all the raids I missed now up to MoP. That alone is an interesting proposition.

    STill, Fallout 4 to finish first!

  2. Peter Leskovar January 14, 2016 / 10:59 am

    The last picture reminds me of the song Darrowshire by Cranius. Such a sad story.

  3. Tyler F.M. Edwards January 14, 2016 / 11:22 am

    The Western Plaguelands is definitely one of the highlights of the Cataclysm revamp. I always found it very gratifying to see the land healing and realize all that fighting we did back in Wrath of the Lich King was worth something.

    Pretty much every class is stupidly overpowered at low levels these days. Blizzard has long since given up on any pretense of balancing content prior to the current expansion. As a brewmaster monk, I was able to solo at-level five man dungeons.

    You won’t be able to use that frying pan for transmog. It’s one of a handful of items that’s been disallowed for being too silly. It’s a policy I’m nominally in favour of, though as time goes on I’m wondering more and more if there’s a point, considering how ridiculous people are able to make their characters look even within the current rules.

  4. Thurro January 18, 2016 / 9:57 am

    Yes! WoW-Syp is BACK!

Leave a Reply

