Pointless Poll of the Day: Do you like punny MMO quest titles?

5 thoughts on “Pointless Poll of the Day: Do you like punny MMO quest titles?

  1. ironweakness January 16, 2016 / 12:40 pm

    My grandpa taught me to appreciate a good pun so absolutely I’m okay with it. Some of them are more cringe worthy than clever, but I’ll take the bad with the good. The Secret World does a good job with punny mission names.

  2. Shintar January 16, 2016 / 1:25 pm

    I voted yes, but it would be more accurate to say “it depends”. Most of the time I enjoy them, but they can get annoying if overdone or if they are trying too hard (e.g. too many puns in a row, especially in what’s supposed to be a serious quest chain).

  3. Llokki January 17, 2016 / 12:52 am

    As Shintar said, in the proper context and provided they’re not overdone, I do enjoy puns in my questing.

  4. Tremayne January 17, 2016 / 8:11 am

    Puns don’t bother me too much, although like Shintar I’m not keen if they’re overdone or forced. What tends to bother me is pop culture references if they’re done badly – too many of them, or too hysterical, or too ephemeral. Bear in mind that this game is likely to be live for a decade or more, unless it’s unprofitable and published by NCSoft. A reference to Monty Python you can get away with, as that’s pretty much permanently bedded in the collective subconscious. A joke based around last month’s viral YouTube meme may have people going “huh?” by the time the game goes live, never mind when the third expansion pack rolls around.

  5. Sally Bowls (@SallyBowls) January 17, 2016 / 11:19 am

    I enjoy them but sometimes feel slightly embarrassed at doing so; me being a Serious Adult and all.

Leave a Reply

