FFXIV: Tidying up behind my levels

One of the things I’m discovering about FFXIV is that while this is a game that’s very deliberate about where it leads you, how it unlocks content, and how it explains it to you, there are still things that you can easily overlook as you level up, especially for the first time.

With that in mind, I’ve been clinging to the generally excellent progression guide over at Gamer Escape to point out when I’ve overshot some bit of content I could be unlocking. I appreciate how it pointed me to some easy-to-get pets and a couple of features that I would have otherwise been ignorant of.

As my Archer nears level 25, I wanted to spend an evening making sure that I had checked off everything up through level 24 on that guide. Tidying up behind my levels, as it were. So I put the main story quest on hold and got to scooting around the world.

Oh! I did get my chocobo mount the other day, thanks to doing some roulettes (once even as a tank for a mighty seals bonus). Definitely preferable to running around all of the time, although I still can’t quite get past the silliness of riding a giant bird. I’m looking at envy at some of the other mounts I see, but I’m not sure how difficult those will be to get.

Task #1: Retainer Ventures

Somehow I missed unlocking venture missions for my retainer when I got them (it was a side quest nearby, but I haven’t been doing side quests since my MSQ seems to be more than enough right now). Since I had racked up a few ventures, figured I might as well be putting these otherwise lazy retainers to work.

The actual mission was pretty easy (side quest and all), although it took a little bit to equip the retainers with gear (since I didn’t keep my level 1 stuff and had to buy new weapons) and read through all of the help text. I sent them on each mission type and washed my hands of their safety.

Oh: My retainers are named Peas and Pod. That pleased me.

Task #2: Sightseeing log

I tried getting this a while back but the questgiver wasn’t handing it out, so I guess I didn’t meet a level prerequisite or something. Anyway, this time around I found it easy and went on a mission to do some local sightseeing in Gridania, which then opened up the sightseeing log. It’s an interesting concept — a log filled with descriptions of places that you have to find and use a /lookout command at in order to complete. Plus, some of them require certain time or weather conditions, which is a neat twist.

My guild says that it’s mostly for XP and people who are bored, so it’s not going to be super-high on my list to complete, but it’s nice to have even so.

hali2

Task #3: Unlock and run Halitali

I had heard that there was a fourth low-level dungeon that wasn’t part of the MSQ, and if you didn’t go out of your way to get it, you could pass it by. Heard that there were good rewards for running it, too. So unlocking Halitali became really important to me (hey, I’m starting to like the dungeon runs in this game).

Again, unlocking this feature was incredibly simple — as long as you weren’t ignoring side quests and knew to talk to the issuing NPC in Vesper Bay. Once I unlocked, I queued up, interested to see what this dungeon held. Even as DPS, the queue took me about one minute to get in, which was all kinds of awesome.

And I have to say that Halitali instantly became my favorite of the low-level dungeons. Not only did it look sinister and quite dungeon-like — what with chains and cages and evidence of past conflict everywhere — but it lavished all sorts of goodies on me. I dinged level 25 quickly, got a good chunk of company seals for doing hunting log stuff, and won an upgrade to both my pants and my bow. Time well spent indeed!

bug

Task #4: Get a new pet

I’m always down for getting new pets, especially if they’re bug-eyed… erm, bugs. A pair of quests at Buscarron’s Druthers netted me this little larvae that happily hops around after me, it’s new parent.

Now I just need to train it to become death, the destroyer of worlds, and it’ll be the best pet ever.

With all that done, it was time to head back to the Archers guild and do my level 25 class quest! That was a satisfying evening of gaming indeed.

6 thoughts on “FFXIV: Tidying up behind my levels

  1. Aywren January 22, 2016 / 9:39 am

    Congrats on level 25, chocobo, and ventures! Ventures can be very RNG, but sometimes they’ve brought back some valuable items and materia that lined my gil pouch. Plus as you level your retainers, they can eventually go on hunts for crafting material that you can sell for profit, too.

    Halatali is a fun romp! It is often overlooked, but I enjoy it as a dungeon overall. If you’re starting to enjoy dungeons in FFXIV, then you’ll do just fine as you level through the game.

    I dreaded dungeons (being a shy player), and I still don’t go out of my way to play them, but they won me over enough to stick with the game and overcome those grouping fears. The Duty Finder makes it really easy to jump in… and as long as you have some sort of awareness of what’s expected of your class at boss fights (especially in the later dungeons), most people are pretty nice to those doing it for the first time.

    Archer/Bard is a good pick for leveling through your first time and learning dungeons. It’s a flexible class that allows you to stand back and observe the dungeon and battles in a way that there’s not too much pressure. Melee DPS classes are fun, but get tunnel vision since you’re always right up on the mobs and bosses. Ranged DPS gives you more breathing room, IMHO, and room to learn.

  2. pkudude99 January 22, 2016 / 4:49 pm

    I quite enjoy FFXIV’s dungeons as well. and while I certainly miss the fast queue times of playing as a healer or tank, I am with Aywren — I like range. I prefer Bard to Machinist, though not by much, and I prefer Summoner to Black Mage (by a lot), but either way…. I’m shooting from afar….

    That said, I just did a LOT of dungeon running as a Dragoon to get it to 60, and I’m now working on Monk and Ninja, so … time for my tunnel vision ūüėČ

    Gratz on all the progress!

    I was afk the other night for several hours, but when I came back I saw your message to the FC that you couldn’t remember the guild name. I giggled at that . . . .

  3. boundeve January 22, 2016 / 7:10 pm

    Ya’know… I’ve been playing the game since beta and still haven’t made the time to do that little quest for the cute bug thing. You’ve inspired me :3~! What realm are you on?

  4. Telwyn January 23, 2016 / 5:16 am

    Dungeons can be a lot of fun, they’re certainly nicely designed aesthetically so it’s well worth doing the ‘side’ dungeons not on MSQ. You know I think I started that sightseeing quest but never finished it! When I inevitably come back to FFXIV for another go at the post 50 ‘quest mountain’ I’ll certainly have a go at that again!

  5. Syp January 24, 2016 / 8:20 am

    I’m on Cactuar.

  6. Giles Linnear January 24, 2016 / 12:24 pm

    The beast tribe dailies unlock at level 41 of the main story quest, and those are what you’ll want to broaden your selection of mounts.

Leave a Reply

