FFXIV: Just call me Healbot 3000

minnie

Seen above: Pathetic leadership.

Even though most of my evening gaming time goes to FFXIV these days and I’ve been settling into a nice groove after my early weeks of class experimentation, it still feels as though I’m all but crawling up through the content. Without looking at the whole MSQ list (and I’m not because spoilers), I don’t really know how far I am. My main job is level 37 and I finished the level 34 trial not too long ago.

Sooner or later I’m going to need to buy Heavensward so that I don’t waste XP once I hit 50, I know. I keep putting it off.

Anyway, part of the reason for my pokeyness is my constant excursions into dungeons. I took a break to level up Thaumaturge to 26 for swiftcast (glad I have it and really glad I never have to play that class ever again) and I’ve been working off and on in getting a Conjurer/White Mage to 36(?) for stoneskin. Healing on a Scholar is so much fun — you’ve got the pet, you’ve got some nice heals, you have the shield thingy — that in contrast, it makes the Conjurer an exercise in trying not to fall asleep.

Seriously, at level 25, I have precisely TWO healing skills. One a direct heal (with a cast time) and one a group heal (with a cast time). Yes, I can get into dungeons quickly and that’s probably the fastest way to level up right now, but each run as a Conjurer means that I’m spamming the 1 key on the tank and occasionally DoTing enemies. I’m sure the White Mage gets better, but this is a horrid start to anyone pursuing a healing career with this class.

Anyway, I try to run at least one dungeon as a Conjurer every day to eventually get to stoneskin. Little bit at a time. Then I like to run one or two dungeons as a Scholar to get the taste of Conjurer out of my mouth and also to hopefully gear up some more. Plus, getting bonus seals has helped with leveling up my grand company rank a bit.

Most of my parties have been pretty decent. Some are a little slower, with newbies or leaders that like to talk people through every… single… fight, but for the most part people know their roles and the first half-dozen dungeons aren’t that complicated.

I did experience one run that nearly made me tear my hair out. The roulette put me in the first dungeon along with a first-time tank and a first-time DPSer (lancer), both of which did not know what to do. The Lancer kept attacking first and getting hurt tremendously while the tank didn’t ever use his flash taunt. That meant the second I started healing, the bad guys came at me like I insulted their mothers. Oh, I tried to patiently explain what these players needed to do, but neither would respond to me or change their tactics.

So I started letting the tank die because I’m petty like that and also because I was sure I could keep up the DPS between pulls. He never quite got the message, but we did finish the run and I am here to tell the tale.

After all of that, any time left is spent on the MSQ, which isn’t always a lot. Still, there have been stretches of the story that have engaged me, and the other night I found myself logging out right during a highly interesting moment when I came back to the Seven Scions’ HQ only to find dead bodies all over the place. Was there an Orochi invasion from TSW?

8 thoughts on “FFXIV: Just call me Healbot 3000

  1. Azuriel February 11, 2016 / 3:49 pm

    @Ironweakness

    LOL, I was thinking the exact same thing. Syp mentioned the first dungeon, which isn’t Copperbell Mines – that was where I experienced my own tank/lancer clown show. Perhaps Lancers are the WoW-hunter equivalent in this game, I dunno. It’s rather hilarious that we both experienced the same exact issues down to the class though.

  2. Syp February 11, 2016 / 4:11 pm

    I’ve heard that Lancers have the crappy Hunter reputation, for sure.

  3. tithian February 11, 2016 / 4:27 pm

    Wow, the first thing that came to my mind was Azuriel’s case with Mines. It really does seem that Lancers have the worst reputation. Check this out (made by the devs)

    The Dragoon (Lancer) is the first to die, and then ninjas the mount – which kinda points that they really are the hunters of FFXIV.

  4. ironweakness February 11, 2016 / 4:35 pm

    Maybe those two were queuing together that night, spreading their dungeon cheer around so that everyone could partake. Kuddos to both of you for sticking it out, I probably would have just dropped group if they weren’t listening to advice despite multiple attempts to help them and with no reciprocated communication.

  5. malahide February 12, 2016 / 6:20 am

    hopefully you are experienced enough healer to have put that tank on ignore list?
    dps doesn’t matter much, but you wanna steer clear of tans like dat:)

  6. Aywren February 12, 2016 / 12:02 pm

    Lancers/Dragoons used to be a whole lot worse before they were buffed. I love the job and it is still my main, but it does have a bad stigma. I break that stigma every chance I can get, though. I’m not the world’s best Dragoon, but I know my job, I’m familiar with tanking and healing (have both level 60 tank/healer) and I know how to make runs easier for everyone else.

    I even got 2 commendations from a low-level dungeon the other day because I taught the tanks the ropes of all the boss mechanics. So, while it tends to be that class people gravitate towards because it looks cool, it really does boil down to the player behind the class.

    Most the time, you get pretty good PUGs, but from time to time, you’ll get one like this. In all the dungeons I’ve ever run, I’ve only had to quit one.. and it was due to a tank who couldn’t hold aggro and who cursed the rest the team out after we party wiped the 5th time. Sorry, not going to be abused like that in a game.

    I wouldn’t worry too much about where you are in the MSQs… sounds like you’re just fine. This is where things begin to ramp up, but the story really gets good once you finish the original ARR storyline. What some folks don’t realize is that once the credits roll and you finish the final story dungeon, there’s many patches worth of story and content that bridge between ARR and Heavensward’s beginning. These quests will give you a good experience boost (if you have the expansion) as well as excellent gear for starting out in Ishgard, so it’s really worth it.

  7. Aywren February 12, 2016 / 12:04 pm

    Oh, and Heavensward is 50% off at the Square Enix store if you need it!

Leave a Reply

