World of Warcraft: Beware of false gods

As a Shaman, I’m having some serious totem envy in this picture above.

I did take a month or so break from World of Warcraft after finishing up the Plaguelands, mostly because I had a brainfart and thought I was on the verge of going to Outlands, where in fact I still had 10 levels to go (I kept thinking 50 was the magic number, I guess I’m in a FFXIV mindset). Kind of took the wind from my sails and I drifted away for a bit.

But now I’m back and with renewed determination to, y’know, get into the game’s first expansion by the time it launches its sixth. At the end of the quest pathing chain that started back with my Dwarf’s creation, I turned to the adventure finder for the first time to figure out a suitable leveling zone. Felwood was suggested, and so Felwood it was.

Took me a while to get there — a long flight to Stormwind, a boat to the other continent, a shorter flight to the mainland, and then a long ride down and around a mountain chain since I lacked flight paths there. It wasn’t all bad; I got to see how these very familiar Night Elf zones got totally wrecked in Cataclysm (I must be the last player on this planet who is stumbling around, wide-eyed at the change that Cataclysm wrought). As with what I found in Azeroth, it was both familiar and new at the same time, not terrible but a little like someone had messed with some semi-sacred memories of my younger gaming years.

rumbo2Felwood and I have a long history together, dating back to the vanilla era where I spent days and weeks in this zone grinding out Timbermaw reputation for that trinket that summoned those lovable guys. Can’t say that this sickly green atmosphere is my favorite, but it is familiar and has some interesting new quests.

Such as a few that had me dealing with a giant totem named Ruumbo. The quest text was fairly hilarious and quite quotable. Sure, it all turned out to be kids pulling a prank, but as long as there’s XP in it, I’ll do whatever. Even do a silly dance for it. I have no shame.

Questing might be the long path to 100, however. The really short path would be just to pony up for Legion pre-order or get Draenor and get instantly leveled to the newer stuff, but why rush? This is all very fascinating to me, albeit a little lonely as most players aren’t rushing through these zones.

The semi-fast path probably lays in dungeon runs. I queued up for a random dungeon and got sent to Zul’Farrak. Man, THERE’S a name I haven’t heard in so very, very many years. Talk about unleashing a torrent of nostalgia, as we blitzed through the instance and I kept remembering the olden days of a much slower-paced crawl through these ruins. And yup, there’s the big Godzilla monster, still angling for a fight.

Was good loot and better XP, in any case, and not for much effort on my part. I could get used to this faster pace of fighting and dungeon running, especially in contrast to FFXIV’s methodical approach. We instantly leaped into Strat afterward for more dungeony fun, and between the two runs I got a level and a half. Maybe I should just chain-run dungeons for a while? I hate the thought of getting too far off the leveling path, though. Maybe just until Outland. I don’t know.

7 thoughts on “World of Warcraft: Beware of false gods

  1. Wilhelm Arcturus March 8, 2016 / 12:21 pm

    While Gahz’rilla is probably the signature boss for Zul’Farrak, it is the event on the steps that has always the defining aspect of that dungeon for me.

  2. Wilhelm Arcturus March 8, 2016 / 12:26 pm

    Oh, and back in the day, getting into the dungeon and realizing that nobody had the mallet for the gong. Good times…

  3. David Bass March 8, 2016 / 12:43 pm

    Dungeon leveling is SUPER fast if you run each dungeon once, since you get all those initial quests which give a ton of XP. I’d probably touch on the “best of” zones while leveling, and supplement it with some dungeoning. When you get to Burning Crusade, there’s a big dropoff in quest quality, so you’ll definitely want to dungeon a little more than usual since the questing can be a little old-school monotonous.

    Once you get through TBC, the rest of the game is so, so enjoyable. WotLK still has some of the coolest quest chains (and is the first time they started using phasing tech for questing; even though you now see it in the “new” old zones).

  4. Tyler F.M. Edwards March 8, 2016 / 1:08 pm

    If you want my advice, quest through Azeroth until 60 or so, then do dungeons to get through Outland. Thanks to Cataclysm, Outland now takes the crown for the game’s most tedious and poorly designed leveling experience.

    Also, running dungeons now puts you at risk of ending up in Blackrock Depths. You don’t want that.

    Once you hit 68, you can go to Northrend, and questing becomes much more appealing again. I always find the Wrath zones a joy to play through. Make sure to complete the full Wrathgate chain in Dragonblight. It’s excellent.

    Also, it’s worth mentioning that as you get higher level, dungeons become progressively less efficient as a means of leveling. They’re great early on, but the XP they offer slopes off as you get near max level. You probably won’t notice a difference for a while yet, but by the time you hit Draenor (if you get that far), dungeon XP is almost nonexistent.

  5. Isey March 8, 2016 / 1:55 pm

    Classic dungeons runs are amazing nostalgia. I still remember CC because of them! Remember that? Ah, the good old days!

  6. Axehoof March 8, 2016 / 3:49 pm

    My advice – There’s plenty of time for level 100 stuff and the quests tell some amazing stories, so do what you can to slow down leveling.

    Turn off xp notifications. Don’t worry about ‘over leveling’ zones, just finish them off as you like.

    As an added bonus, this spaces out your ability gains in a nice way that lets you get used to them.

  7. Dobablo March 9, 2016 / 8:11 am

    Your premature thinking that Outland came after the Plaguelands might have been because it once did fill that roll. Prior to the Cataclysm, EPL was a L55+ zone.
    I enjoy seeing the post-Cataclysm changes compared to how I remember them. I am also enjoying the Outland references on Draenor.

Leave a Reply

