A trip down my World of Warcraft roster

One thing about World of Warcraft’s longevity is that many accounts have undoubtedly picked up scads of alts and abandoned characters across several servers. These toons wait in vain for the day that their master or mistress will return for another romp through Azeroth.

While I’ve done my fair share of alt purges through the years, deleting with impunity, there remains some two dozen or so characters on my account spread across about eight servers. I was flipping through them this morning, taking screenshots of each notable character for posterity… and to share with you.

s1

Syppi the Shaman is my newest character, the one I’ve been puttering around with, off and on, since coming back in December. The Shaman is one of my go-to classes, offering the hybrid fun, melee smashing, and even a bit of pet class craziness.

s2

Syp is my oldest character still in existence, although certainly not the oldest I ever made. I think I made her October 2006 as the very first “Syp” in preparation for The Burning Crusade. Had a great time with her, but alas, the changes to the Warlock class have rendered her all but unrecognizable to me. She’s also the only character I seriously crafted on, leveling up engineering to the point where I made my own helicopter.

s3

Ghostfire was a Burning Crusade invention, giving me a good excuse to romp around as a Hunter with the new race. She’s also my second-highest-level character (75), having gotten through a chunk of Northrend before I shelved her when Warhammer Online came out. Her pet, a ghost wolf named Oz, represented a terrifically difficult capture back in the day, utilizing some clever techniques to get an otherwise-unobtainable creature.

s4

Somehow, Echoes the Tauren Druid became my highest level character (80), probably during the Wrath of the Lich King era. She was all Moonkin, baby, and proud of it. I did return to her briefly when Cataclysm came out, but my stay in that expansion was short-lived.

s5

Yes, here is documented proof that I (sigh) used to play an Elf. But I posit to you that I had no choice — no choice! — because if you were in an Alliance guild (which I was) and wanted to play a Druid, you had no other choice.

Curse you, Blizzard!

s6

Platypus the Shaman, somewhere in her 60s. No great tales here, other than more proof that I like the class.

5 thoughts on “A trip down my World of Warcraft roster

  1. bhgapuss March 28, 2016 / 12:13 pm

    Interesting that you think your characters sit around waiting for their “master or mistress” to return. I think mine carry on with the lives they would always be leading if I didn’t turn up like some disembodied director to boss them about. I always imagine they heave a sigh of relief the moment they see me log out and that the ones that get played the least are deemed by the others to be the lucky ones.

    Although, in fact, unless there’s very good evidence to the contrary, such as sharing a guild or a guild hall, I always assume my characters are largely oblivious of each other.

  2. Syp March 28, 2016 / 12:15 pm

    You don’t think they have a bhagpuss support group? That might make for an interesting movie.

  3. Isey March 28, 2016 / 1:14 pm

    My characters all of a full story about them from real life, not in game. Why they were made, why I stuck with them, etc. etc.

    When I last quit WoW I carefully chose specific places to log them out that had meaning to me (and them) in game. Couchon was logged out in the small dwarven home where we had our in person guild meetings when we formed Ascension. Isey at the boss A’lar, the one we couldn’t beat as a guild but came within a fraction so many times (and just skipped eventually). Locked in a staring contest for all eternity.

    I am a nostalgic fool though.

    I do feel that I need to buy the expansion and get them leveled up to continue their journeys. I even bought the latest expansion at 75% off, but still haven’t played. I feel like I am letting them down if they don’t.

    I think I need a therapist.

  4. Moxie March 30, 2016 / 10:59 pm

    Whoa, Snappi is a blast from the past. I remember running BC dungeons with her. Still one of my all time favorite MMO moments was when a certain guildie was following her while running to Hellfire Citadel. Snappi jumped off the cliff and into flight form, while the guildie arrived back at her computer just in time to see herself plummeting to her death. So much language flew over vent that night… ūüėČ

  5. Syp March 31, 2016 / 12:16 pm

    hehe Val was NOT pleased with me that night, but it’s one of my favorite memories.

Leave a Reply

