World of Warcraft: Money by murder

sp1

One of my recent concerns-slash-goals in World of Warcraft is to increase my gold generation from the reliable but meager stream that I’ve been pulling in over the past couple of months. I know there’s a sizable community out there that focuses on WoW’s economy, so there’s plenty of resources for advice.

Yesterday I took some of that advice to start running lower-level heroics on solo, something I never thought about doing before. I guess everything from Cataclysm on down is fair game, even on 25-man heroic, so I started looking these up. Seeing as how my previous raiding experience in this game was… uh, just Kara, I was more than clueless about where the instances are and how to complete them.

I shouldn’t have worried about the completion part — my Hunter ripped through the mobs like so much butter. Even boss mobs went down in seconds, granting me achievements left and right, which was kind of cool. I’m usually not in the camp that loves to be so overpowered that they can rofflestomp content, but I have to say… it’s kind of really, really fun.

And the loot! My eyes grew so big when I saw all of the purples drop. I haven’t even seen a single purple from Draenor yet, so this was like feeling as though I was robbing a bank. Then I realized that it was all soulbound (from bosses), so they were good for either vendoring or transmog. Still, kind of cool.

sp2

The real money is in farming these places for bind-on-equip greens/blues/purples, I found. Transmog is a big deal to some folks, and people will pay big for cool looks. I scored with one purple gun drop that is going for about 8k on the auction house.

Beside making money, it was just neat to actually see these instances. I wouldn’t have ever done this at-level, so at least I’m getting to catch up after the fact. They’re pretty impressive set pieces, even if all their fearsomeness is a charade for a level 100.

One of my long-standing dreams is to explore the inside of Naxx, so I decided to go ahead and do just that. I cleared out two quarters last night between Timewalking dungeon runs, looting to my heart’s content and taking in the sights.

Anyway, if you have some great gold-making tips, feel free to drop ’em in the comments! I’d really like to be able to start affording WoW tokens at some point, since I’m saving up for a laptop and every $15 saved can go toward that.

2 thoughts on “World of Warcraft: Money by murder

  1. Moxie May 5, 2016 / 9:08 am

    Grab a Potion of Treasure Finding, go to the Firelands raid in Mount Hyjal. Set it to 25 man Heroic. Pop the potion, go in and clear all of the trash mobs on the plateau. Do not kill any bosses. When the plateau is clear, leave the instance, right-click your character portrait and reset instances, then go back in. Rinse & Repeat for the hour that your potion is active. 🙂

  2. Raignn May 5, 2016 / 3:53 pm

    You’re basically doing it! It’s SO MUCH FUN to go do older instances. I recommend just doing all of them. Go through your achievements and do every single one. You’ll get to see so much story and they are really fun and easy.

    Glad to see you’ve been enjoying WoW as much as I have going back. It really is much more casual friendly.

Leave a Reply

