I’m sailing! I’m a sailor!

sailing

Well, not yet — but on Saturday my wife and I will be taking a well-deserved vacation together with no kids to celebrate my 40th. She asked me what I wanted to do for a trip this year, and I suggested going on an Alaskan cruise. We’ve only ever done one cruise, and that was to the Carribbean. We had a fantastic time and that, coupled with seeing a place that I’ve always wanted to visit, would be a good combination.

If I haven’t said before, I am a PLANNER when it comes to trips. I always have been. When I was a young kid, I would spend weeks preparing for family vacations to grandma and grandpa’s, even though my responsibility began and ended at what I was bringing in my bag. I like to know the itinerary down to the minute, I double-check details, and I like researching things about the trip so that I’m able to be flexible and have the least amount of unpleasant surprises.

So while my wife will probably start packing about a day before we go, I’ve been putting stuff aside for a couple of weeks now. One thing that I’ve always done is make sure that I have a pile of entertainment to bring with me. I’d always rather have too much than not enough; the thought of sitting on a plane or boat somewhere without anything to do makes me shiver.

Happily, with mobile devices and whatnot, it’s a lot easier to arrange this. I’m bringing my ipad (mostly for movies that my wife and I can watch, but also Chrono Trigger), my phone (plenty of small games), my Kindle (with four new books), and my “magazine.” OK, I’m a total dork, but I don’t want to waste money on real magazines and I am always a little leery of airlines telling me I can’t use my Kindle during takeoff. So I got a folder and printed out a ton of MMO guides and articles that I want to catch up on and read. More enlightening anyway.

Of course, I’m not planning on reading and playing games all week — that’s mostly just for downtime when we’re either traveling or at night when my wife goes to bed early. It’ll be a little strange (as always) to be cut off from the internet, but in my opinion we all need that in our lives every now and then, if just to reorient us to life.

I’ll miss the news and the MMOs and the blog posts, but that’s all stuff I can catch up on later. A new experience and scenery awaits, and I can’t wait.

4 thoughts on “I’m sailing! I’m a sailor!

  1. Atheren May 17, 2016 / 2:29 pm

    You prepare for vacation the way some people prepare for Dungeons and Raids.

  2. baldwinp May 18, 2016 / 8:23 am

    My folks go on several cruises a year. You might be surprised about how connected you can remain on them these days. Have a fun time! Don’t get eaten by a bear.

  3. othnieltcs May 18, 2016 / 1:05 pm

    Ah, one of my favorite movies. Have fun!!!

  4. Llokki May 22, 2016 / 9:04 am

    Enjoy the cruise!

Leave a Reply

