Star Trek Online: These are the voyages…

rainbunny

…of the U.S.S. Rain Bunny. It’s five-year mission, to… what? It’s called the Rain Bunny. Do you have a problem with that? What, you think it’s dumb?

I’ll have you know that my new T5-U carrier here is named in honor of my son. A while back he coined the phrase “rain bunnies” for the little splashes of water on the ground when it rains hard. Looks like they’re jumping around, hence rain bunnies. Whatever, I thought it was pretty clever.

It is certainly great to be back in a carrier in Star Trek Online, I do say. There’s something exhilarating about launching a squad of fighters to head out in front of you to get massacred by giant capital ships. Since I can always make more and there are no shortages of ambitious red shirts aboard the Rain Bunny, I have no compunction against using them.

Unfortunately, the Rain Bunny might have met her ultimate nemesis early on in her career: the seasonal event. Okay, you all know me and you know I like holiday events, and the Risa thing is not half bad. I wish that you could do more than one activity to earn the ship, but oh well, people are having fun and it’s a well-designed zone.

The problem is with any MMO festival that requires regular daily input, there’s a huge temptation to simply plant roots wherever that festival is and stop all other activities due to the time required to travel to and from the area. I’ve lost count of how many of these games make it somewhat of a hassle to get to wherever the event is taking place, influencing me to hunker down and stay there until I obtain whatever rewards I want.

I’ve had this happen again and again, where all personal questing and dungeon running and whatnot grinds to a halt because it’s just easier to park my character at the event area so that I can log in, do the dailies, and log out. It’s not always the case — sometimes MMOs get smart and keep their celebrations in home cities or give quick teleports to the areas, but with Star Trek Online, it’s in a system that’s pretty far from many other mission areas.

Fortunately, while writing this I thought about, y’know, googling the issue and saw that you can access a quick transwarp to Risa via the mission window. Huh. Would have never thought to look for it there. So warp ahead for both missions and event dailies!

borg0

“Lieutenant, inform Starfleet that we have engaged the Borg. For the 10th time this week. Along with about half of the rest of Starfleet. Just use the form letter that we created for this.”

borg1

You know what’s super-awkward? When you’re playing a Borg mission and some body horror model like the above girl walks across the screen right as your kid comes into the room and starts freaking out that the girl has no lower torso. Daddy is just exploring strange new worlds, honey! Would a chocolate make you forget? FORGEEEET.

4 thoughts on “Star Trek Online: These are the voyages…

  1. Redbeard June 13, 2016 / 12:30 pm

    Boy, and I thought I was cool for naming my ship the USS Bohr, for physicist Niels Bohr.

  2. Syp June 13, 2016 / 2:17 pm

    I’m Bohred with that comment.

  3. Redbeard June 13, 2016 / 3:31 pm

    /golf clap

  4. Nick June 13, 2016 / 6:36 pm

    Back in beta, my very first ship was named the U.S.S. Tony Danza. I stand by the decision.

    Of course, I’m a good 40 or 50 ships later at this point, so mostly I just rotate them. There’s the U.S.S. Four Lights, the U.S.S. Tom Servo, and of course the NX Taco Tuesday. So many names…

    I agree entirely with the habit of just dumping a character on the planet to do the event. At least in recent years, you only have to finish it with one character, so if you have more than one, you can park an alt and be done with it.

    I don’t, because I also want all those clothing unlocks for my main character and need the pearls, and instead just don’t play anything with it. I’m thinking that’s why they are going to launch the new expansion during the event this year… past years, it gets to be a grind towards the middle, and that can be the “something else” for everyone to go do.

Leave a Reply

