What I bought in the Steam summer sale

armelloooo

If Aywren says it’s OK to talk about what games you’ve bought in a summer digital sale, then it’s clearly OK for all of us to do so as well.

I honestly wasn’t planning on picking up anything from the Steam summer sale, for two reasons. One, I prefer GOG.com as my digital platform of choice and get most of my non-MMO games through there if possible. And two, I have more than enough on my gaming plate as it is.

But I did start poking around after spotting one tempting sale and ended up nabbing three games for a little under $25, ones that I knew I would play and wouldn’t mind including for a future Try It Tuesday. So what did I get?

The Long Dark: This has been on my to-buy list for a long time now. I still haven’t really bought into the whole survival sandbox scene, but I dig the visuals and cold north theme of this one. Plus I’ve had friends play it and be quite enthusiastic about their experiences. Should be a trip.

The Stanley Parable: Never played it, it was $2, and everyone who has played it seems to love it for whatever reason.

Armello: Total wild card, impulse purchase buy right here. The graphics caught my eye and I hunkered down to read about this board game/RPG/card game hybrid. Game of Thrones intrigue and anthropomorphic animals? Sure, why not!

7 thoughts on “What I bought in the Steam summer sale

  1. Blake T June 29, 2016 / 12:08 pm

    I’ve started running and hiding when the sales come around. Though this time I had to pop in as the newest version of my baseball simulator (out of the park 17) had a nice sale so I finally got it. Nice haul you got there, for a good price.

    I read an article the other day talking about Godus and the implosion of that whole thing and the writer mentioned this game — saying it was shame that it never got the push it deserved. Just figured I’d show it to you. Could be something fun.

    http://steamcommunity.com/app/319560#scrollTop=0

  2. Aywren June 29, 2016 / 12:09 pm

    It’s absolutely OK to talk about this! 🙂

    I enjoyed what I played of Armello (the art alone is fantastic!), though it’s been a while since I’ve played it, and there’s been a number of updates between now and then. I backed that one on Kickstarter, so I only dabbled with the early access. Need to try it again and blog updated thoughts.

    Gosh, I’m still on the fence about The Long Dark. I may have to just buy it. The price is right.

  3. Tyler F.M. Edwards June 29, 2016 / 1:52 pm

    I promised myself I’d take it easy this year. So I bought five games. Sigh…

    I got:

    Oxenfree: Already finished, great game, highly recommended. Life Is Strange meets The Secret World.

    Kyn: Made it about twenty minutes before uninstalling. Low budget and boring. I’m not trusting Steam user reviews anymore. Landmark is hated, but this game gets uniformly good reviews?

    Space Siege: I liked Dungeon Siege, so hopefully this will be good too.

    Idol Hands: Had an odd hankering for a god game, and it was only $1. Not expecting much, but… $1.

    I Shall Remain: Indie post-apocalyptic RPG. I feel like it’s either going to be amazing or completely awful.

  4. Tesh June 29, 2016 / 3:13 pm

    I picked up Child of Light and Steamworld Dig. Both were on my wish list, both were 75% off. I’ll probably play them some time next year.

    Armello is on the list too, but I’m still debating it.

  5. Almonihah1 June 29, 2016 / 5:26 pm

    Armello is a fun little title, though I’ve found it hasn’t sucked me in for repeated games. Still, when it takes only ~1 hour to play a game, it fills that niche for a “I feel like something I can finish tonight” game.

  6. Hugo June 29, 2016 / 7:04 pm

    Im actually heading for the “Resist the Steam Sale” Achievement… Havent bought a single game so far but i do have to force myself not to have a peek at the sales because i know as soon as i do i will be sold!

Leave a Reply

