6 geeky things I don’t do

geeky

Like many of you, I comfortably wear the “geek” label, as that is as good as any term to broadcast a wide range of my interests, from MMORPG gaming to video game music podcasting. I know Buffy well, had my Star Trek phase, and have been to enough conventions to know that I fit in well with that crowd.

But unlike what it seems like all of you — even though I logically know otherwise — there are aspects of geekdom of which I do not partake. You know how that is? When it seems like EVERYone else is doing/watching/engaging in something, but you just don’t, for whatever reasons. For me, it’s usually a lack of time, a shortage of money, no interest, or no one to do it with.

So today I thought I’d confess to six geeky things that I totally don’t do.

(1) Read and collect comics

Oh, I used to collect comics… back in the 1990s. I wasn’t super-regular about it, but every so often we’d grab GI Joes and X-Forces and even Archies. I think I have a small stack of Star Wars comics around here somewhere. But it never became a hobby or passion.

I know that some people are really into comics and graphic novels, but I look at them and I can’t justify spending that much money on a piece of literature that I’m going to devour in about 1/200th the time of a real novel. Plus, it kind of annoys me how often resets and retcons and all of the other confusing superhero storylines are played with.

(2) Watch hour-long shows

This is definitely a time issue for me. I just rarely can block out 45 minutes to watch anything, especially whole series. So I am hopelessly behind on Game of Thrones (season 2) and Walking Dead (season 1) and we still haven’t finished the latest season of Doctor Who. It was a lot easier to stay up on these things before kids, let me tell you.

(3) Play tabletop RPGs

Whether its wargaming or pen-and-paper RPGs, I’ve never done them. A casualty of either a lack of time or access to like-minded people. Always regretted not getting into “real” roleplaying games, but there’s always the future!

(4) Wear a lot of geeky shirts

My wardrobe used to be filled with a lot of pop culture t-shirts, but over the last few years I’ve found my tastes settling down into the bland. I much prefer solid colors and button-down shirts to the latest BAZINGA! or Jayne Cobb tees. I have a stack of them in my closet, because people keep buying me pop culture and geeky t-shirts, but they haven’t gotten a lot of wear from me. I’m not really broadcasting my geekdom with my fashion, I’m afraid.

(5) Play consoles

No, I’m not part of the “PC master gaming race” or whatever that is. I actually always felt that console players were a little more elitist in some ways, but it’s no matter to me. I simply don’t play on consoles. I don’t own one — a current one, that is — because PC gaming is more than enough for me and the Xbox and PlayStation don’t really offer anything I want.

(6) Play Magic: The Gathering (or any other CCGs)

I went through a short-lived physical Magic phase followed by a slightly longer one with the digital Magic Online, but seriously I do not have the time or money to keep up with all of that. Even Hearthstone seems like too much of a time investment, and that’s as stripped down as can be.

Back in college it used to be that if you were a geek, you were always lugging around a Magic deck for spontaneous matches. I wonder if that’s even a thing these days.

8 thoughts on “6 geeky things I don’t do

  1. Tyler F.M. Edwards July 4, 2016 / 9:49 am

    Excepting number two, these all apply to me as well. I played Magic for a while when I was a kid, and I still have all my old cards (I like the artwork), but I haven’t actually sat down and played in over a decade.

    Had a brief flirtation with D&D back in the day, and still have some manuals lying around, but I didn’t really have the patience for it.

  2. Rowan July 4, 2016 / 10:24 am

    Like Tyler, my own biggest departure is #2. Granted, I (and my now-grown children) are in a different phase of life, wherein I have more time for that sort of thing. I do have a selection of sort of geeky shirts (mostly from ShirtPunch), but I am not in the habit of buying or wearing anything you might find in Sheldon’s closet. Now, if I could find (or easily have made) polo shirts with embroidered Horde or Alliance logos, etc., I’d be all over it.

  3. bhagpuss July 4, 2016 / 10:37 am

    I find the whole stratification of popular culture endlessly fascinating. From my perspective the demographic that’s currently self-identifying as “geek” is grabbing identifiers from any number of pre-existing sub-cultures with both hands and appropriating them shamelessly.

    When I was going through my adolescence in the 1970s and my twenties in the 1980s, most of these factions were barely on nodding terms with each other, far less part of some universal geek family. Comics fans (of whom I was one) were utterly derided by Science Fiction fans, who were in turn riven with internal dissent over what constituted “SF”. To admit that you watched, let alone had a good opinion of, Star Trek would be enough to invalidate anything else you might have to offer on any topic fit for discussion by a True SF Fan.

    Comics fans generally saw themselves as having absolutely nothing whatsoever to do with roleplaying gamers. The handful of people I knew who sat in the crossover of that particular Venn diagram were treated with considerable hauteur, even suspicion. All these cliques and countless more defined themselves as much by who they excluded as who they saw as allies.

    The whole scene is a lot healthier now on many ways but much of that is down to the relentless mainstreaming of what used to be the outliers of popular culture. No-one in the 70s or even the 80s would have believed that Superhero comics could conceivably become the norm for Hollywood blockbuster movies, nor that it would become almost harder to find a “mainstream” adult novel that didn’t use tropes taken from SF and Fantasy than one that did.

    We’re all geeks now. Especially those who deny it the most.

  4. carson63000 July 4, 2016 / 5:30 pm

    On #1, I bought and read comics back in the 90’s, too. And I too stopped because hot damn it was expensive buying these issues that took minutes to read instead of hours!

    But I’ve recently picked up a subscription to Marvel Unlimited and am LOVING it. Less than $6/month to read a huge amount of Marvel’s back catalogue, going up to about six months ago. That gives me more than 15 years of stories to catch up on from since I stopped buying comics. Absolutely fantastic.

    On #5, I’ve spent more than two years of my life working developing console games, yet I have never owned a gaming console. Not one.

  5. DDOCentral July 4, 2016 / 6:51 pm

    I am not a geek.

  6. Particlebit July 5, 2016 / 9:36 pm

    I have never been deep into comics either, although I’ve tried a couple times. Maybe it’ll work next time

Leave a Reply

