4 long(ish) games I would love to finish some day

f4

Back before marriage, kids, and MMOs, I used to have absolutely no problem sinking dozens and dozens of hours into lengthy games. In fact, the longer, the better. And computer RPGs like Baldur’s Gate 2, Fallout 2, Planescape Torment, and Knights of the Old Republic were perfect for that sort of thing.

Now I find it tremendously hard to actually complete any of these monstrous games. In fact, with my regular MMO play, other games only get a few hours here and there before eventually being abandoned. And that’s kind of a shame, because I do wish I could finish these four games (and some day, perhaps I will):

1. Fallout 4

Nobody really talks about this big ticket game these days, but I have to say that it was a really enjoyable ride for what time I spent in it. Lots to do, to explore, guns to get, screens to shot. My thing was that I wanted to complete the map and not miss any of the areas and secrets, so I didn’t get as far as those who just powered ahead with the story.

Maybe some day I’ll go back, reroll, and do a full run. I think I’d really like that, and I would totally ignore the game’s housing system in it. But it’s probably not going to be any time soon.

2. Stardew Valley

Stardew Valley isn’t the biggest game in the world but it is a time-sucker, and my frustration with it is that I feel like I’m missing out on things I should be doing as I’m puttering around on my farm. Out of all of these games, it’s probably the one I’ll go back to sooner rather than later, maybe with a walkthrough for guidance.

3. Dreamfall Chapters

The Longest Journey is one of my hands-down favorite adventure games of all time, and Dreamfall was a decent follow-up. So it’s weird to me that I bought this episodic sequel and then gave up after the first 20 minutes. Maybe I was waiting for the full game to come out? I don’t recall, but I do feel like its a waste that I haven’t played it yet.

4. Pillars of Eternity

I know I talk about wanting to and needing to play this RPG a lot. And now, especially that there was a well-received expansion released along with a nice quality-of-life patch, I probably should. I just don’t know *when* I could put it into my gaming schedule. I see it taking the place of my retro gaming time, but I love doing those retro pieces, so no thanks for now.

3 thoughts on “4 long(ish) games I would love to finish some day

  1. МИР/k.o. (@krieglich) July 8, 2016 / 12:03 pm

    Totally #3. I’ve started this game three or four times and stopped playing at the same spot every time. I always have the feeling it is no real adventure game, I don’t know why.

  2. dr4k3rblog July 8, 2016 / 1:39 pm

    The only open world game I think I ever fished was two worlds. Every other one I seem to play like I would an mmo.

  3. romeomoon July 9, 2016 / 9:46 am

    I’ve started Dragon Age: Origins/Awakening about a year ago and loved, even though I really wasn’t used to the combat. I think if I went back now,I’d enjoy it even more. Never had the time to make it far past the intro. I picked up Morgan and then life caught up with me and I had to stop playing.

    I’ve also started Fallout 4 and Skyrim, both of which I love wandering around in free form rather than follow any of the quests. Never made it far in the storyline for either of them.

    I currently am a volunteer staff member for the Geek.Kon convention here in Madison, WI, and even though I’ve parred down my responsibilities considerably, I still struggle to find time to do much gaming. I also became a writer for Funcurve.com and am still trying to get my own podcast Lounge L33ts going, albeit on a very limited schedule. On top of that, I work 40+ hours at a fday job to keep a roof over my head. I totally under stand people when they say they have no time for gaming, or need to quit an MMORPG because of life getting in the way.

Leave a Reply

