Picking a main from my WoW: Legion finalists

dk

I have a terrible, incurable sickness, and its name is “altoholism.” Then again, you knew this already.

When I first came back to World of Warcraft earlier this year, I was devoted to only playing/leveling a single character. Ain’t got time for any more than that, especially if I was to play other MMOs, and focusing on a single character made sense as I was catching up on the past few years of the game’s development.

Fast-forward to July here and altoholism has started to rear its predictably delicious head. What was one character is now five: a hunter, a death knight, a druid, a shaman, and a warlock. All but the druid are level 100 and more or less ready to jump into Legion when the day comes. But the question that’s been vexing me is: which one?

Here’s the thing. I really, truly don’t have the time or even want to be playing more than one character, especially after Legion arrives. Sure, I might get around to the other four in the future, but I think I’d like the experience best if I just focused on a main and didn’t feel like I had to keep splitting my attention. So I’ve been thinking a lot about which character will take that finalist spot, and depending on the day it keeps changing.

This is why I really want the pre-expansion patch to land, just so that I can see the class changes and get a feel for how they’ll play and if any of the ones I currently like will either get a lot better or a lot worse.

Currently, my thoughts on each class’s potential:

  • Druid: My enthusiasm for leveling a pure healing class has started to wane now that I’m the mid-60s. I still have a ways to go to get her to 100 and I don’t know if I’m so invested in her to do that. Lots of nice little things about the class but overall I’m not feeling it.
  • Shaman: Hybrids rule and I love the current version of enhancement. Lots of useful pets, slamming melee, and heals/totems. It’s not at the top of my list right now but I wouldn’t pitch a fit if I was forced to make this my main. I love the look of my Druid in mail and swinging dual axes. Could well be a dark horse entry.
  • Death Knight: Love the class with the pets and diseases, plus her Gnominess makes for a fun visual. Hearing good things about unholy DKs from Legion, and she’s already maxed out mining and engineering, plus she’s up to ilevel 700 gear. Feel like she’d be in a good place. Only dislikes are a lack of strong healing and the melee focus (I might be more of a ranged player at heart).
  • Warlock: Used to main one and I like “Syperstar” so far. Actually really excited to see the new class changes since I am not a fan of metamorphesis. Depends how the whole pet parade turns out. Ranged is a plus, long cast bars are a minus.
  • Hunter: The oldest character I still play and at the top of her class with professions and gear. Have a monkey with a hat. Excited about getting an artifact gun that also comes with a wolf pet, although word is that beast mastery takes a pounding in Legion.

I’ve been rotating through these to help make my decision, but again it’s probably going to come down to the pre-expansion patch to narrow it down to one. If it’s the warlock or shammy, I’m going to need to really focus on professions and perhaps take them through the whole of the Draenor storyline just for a sense of completion.

Anyone else struggling with which character they’re going to start the expansion with? And please sit on me before I make another alt!

14 thoughts on “Picking a main from my WoW: Legion finalists

  1. Atheren July 13, 2016 / 9:13 am

    You’ll want that main plus a Demon Hunter. Demon Hunter is really a unique and great to play class.

  2. Grant July 13, 2016 / 9:47 am

    Is there an artifact weapon that stands out to you for a particular class spec? With how much of a focus these weapons seem to have in the new expansion, maybe if there is one that resonates with you, (either visually or from a lore perspective) that might push a particular class ahead of the others.

  3. tententacles July 13, 2016 / 10:15 am

    I always main two characters at the beginning of expansions. This go around I’ve settled in a Horde Death Knight and an Alliance Demon Hunter. I figured I’d main the two heroic classes. Like you, I’m an altoholic. I have 8 other lvl 100 alts, so they’ll all eventually see some love. But, diets go around will be the DK and the DH.

  4. Stargrace (@Stargrace) July 13, 2016 / 10:52 am

    I’m also trying to decide who to play for my main. I have a priest that I adore and I’ve heard good things finally happening to the holy spec, a druid who I keep wanting to be my main but never ends up that way, a shaman, a paladin, and a hunter. Those are the 100s, then I have a handful of not quite there yets. I’m REALLY eager for the pre-expansion stuff because I think (like you) that will help me make my decision. I don’t want to focus on all of them all at once, I’d rather settle down for a while and then as I complete Legion things and get bored I’ll branch out.

  5. Isey July 13, 2016 / 11:04 am

    *If* I do legion I plan on using my druid. He deserves his max level swan song..

    I haven’t even played WoD yet.

  6. Tyler F.M. Edwards July 13, 2016 / 12:27 pm

    As much as I would love to vote for warlock, everything I’ve seen indicates we’re getting nerfed back to the Stone Age (not just in terms of power but also cool factor, visuals, fun mechanics, basically everything) in Legion, so I don’t think I can in good conscience recommend the class right now.

    Knowing what I do about your play preferences, I think you’d have the most fun with an unholy death knight come Legion. You’ll have a whole zoo of potential undead minions, and DKs are usually a good class for low stress leveling and solo play. The hunter might not be a terrible idea, either.

    I was having a lot of trouble picking a main for Legion, but I’m thinking I might just abandon the concept of a main entirely and focus on doing a bunch of different classes’ order hall stories. We’ll see, though — depends on how much work they are relative to how much interesting story they provide.

  7. Silverangel July 13, 2016 / 12:38 pm

    I’m trying to make the same decision right now, before I re-sub. If I could transmog my DK armor into robes, I would re-install with a goal for my elven DK to take over for my robe-wearing Elf Warden in LotRO. I can’t, so still looking for motivation. Just not that excited about any WoW classes after playing them so much over the years.

  8. The Alien July 13, 2016 / 1:21 pm

    I would just like to put in a word on behalf of druids. As the only class with four specs, there’s a lot of variety available. I admit I’m not up to date on Legion, but I think everyone gets the ability to switch between all specs now. I’ve enjoyed leveling my druid in bear, cat, caster and healer modes at different times. Of course, if you don’ t like cats, bears or moonkin, I can see where that wouldn’t help.

    For me, the druid was first among alts for quite some time, but after a brief flirtation with a warrior in the first few weeks of vanilla, I decided to be true to myself and have been playing a mage as my main ever since.

  9. Paganrites July 13, 2016 / 3:38 pm

    I keep writing Wow off but have gotten sucked back in by the hype every expansion. I am genuinely interested in Legion though. I’m exited to see Stephen Frost’s ex Wildstar) influence on the PvP revamp. I’m excited to see visual upgrades, and of course the storyline.

    I have not played for quite awhile. I’m think I’ll just start with an insta 100 but I have no idea what class I will play. I have always been the Priest in the group. So I’m thinking of actually going some for of tank for Legion.

    With the coming pre-expansion content I need to figure it out soon.

  10. Moxie July 13, 2016 / 3:53 pm

    I’ve been going through the same problem. I’ve mained a shadow Priest for years, & the new shadow priest looks interesting. My ret paladin was my main for WoD and I really like the Ashbringer artifact weapon. My mage has always been my “1st alt” and I feel like it might be time to main her, plus she would get an awesome staff. Then theres the druid, where I hate balance right now but it looks way better in Legion. DECISIONS!!

  11. Rowan July 13, 2016 / 6:43 pm

    Having just gotten back into the game myself (haven’t even really thought about Legion), I am still on the fence about many of the classes. Druid has versatility, but like always, it lacks focus. I’ve always liked enhancement shammies, I had one as my main of the last year I played. But I wish they hadn’t nerfed the tankiness of the class. When Blizz abandoned Shammy/Pally parity, it seems like shaman got the short end of the stick. My own altoholism is already rearing its beautiful head, so I’ll be no help to you there. Given the trinity roles, all the classes seem like rehashes of each other. Maybe the order halls will restore that feeling of uniqueness.

  12. kamaliaetalia July 13, 2016 / 8:39 pm

    I always start with my Shaman, so for me the altoholic question is really “who will go second?”
    I’ve always played mostly Horde, so now that I actually have a level 100 Alliance character, that character has a high probability of going second. Plus, she’s a Mage, and I’m really pretty excited to play her as Arcane and pick up Aegwynn’s staff.

    After that, I’ve been contemplating the idea that for this expansion, I’ll start bringing up characters in the *inverse* order of how much I want to play with them long-term during the expansion. The gist of it is that I’ll take the characters for whom I only want one Artifact weapon and only really want to see the start of their Order Hall story and do those early, then just set them aside. After I’ve gotten those less-favored, lower priority characters settled into their Order Halls, I’ll do the characters with whom I want to get more than one of the Artifact weapons and see more of their Order Hall stories. That way, I’ll be able to do stuff with the more-favored, higher priority characters without being bugged by feeling like I need to take time away from them to do the intro stuff with the lower priority characters.

  13. Missy aka Lana July 14, 2016 / 1:01 pm

    I’ve used the last 3 months deciding, and then alpha and beta. Now I have finally been able to make up my mind, after thinking I had decided multiple times 😛
    MW Monk, woo! *rolls away*

Leave a Reply

