6 interesting novels I’ve read recently

saintI haven’t done a book post in a while (a year in fact!), probably because my reading in 2016 has slowed waaaay down for various reasons (I blame late-night sitcoms). Still, I have managed to plow through a good half-dozen novels so far, so here are a few thoughts and recommendations.

(1) Saint’s Blood by De Castell

The third of the Greatcoats series, I was so excited to see it pop up. It’s simply one of my favorite fantasy series of all time now, a new take on the Three Musketeers. Saint’s Blood has Falcio and company doing what they always do — trying to hold a broken country together by fighting near-impossible odds. It was a good read, even great, although I would probably put it at number three if I had to rank the series to date. Some good twists and a running theme on dueling keeps it gripping reading.

(2) The Devil’s Detective by Unsworth

Here’s a neat premise: A noir detective story set in Hell, where a man must investigate a series of murders that are unusual even to the underworld. Great world-building and a main character that slowly awakens and comes into his own. Now onto the sequel!

(3) The Rain by Turkot

I use Bookbub to notify me of free or highly discounted enovels in the genres that I read, so many times I take chances on these novels if they look interesting. The Rain kind of hit that spot, being a post-apocalyptic novel set in an America that’s seen nonstop rain for years and years. The concept is good, but the sometimes shoddy writing and dull characters lost my interest after a while.

(4) Bitter Seeds by Tregillis

Nazi soldiers with superpowers vs. British warlocks in World War II is a slam-dunk premise, and some people have talked up Tregillis for a while now. I’ll put this out there: It’s a good read, sometimes very dark and depressing, but the alternate history take on WWII with a fantasy/superhero approach is worth exploring. That said, I don’t think I’ll move on to the other books in the series, since by the end it was a little more work than pleasure to finish.

(5) The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Dickinson

Man people raaaaaved about this novel. Maybe a little too much, since my expectations going into it were very high. It’s the tale of an island native who is absorbed into a conquering empire and decides to rebel (in some fashion) from within. The protagonist balances between smarts and terrible situations well, and I’ll say that while it’s not my best-of-2016 or anything, it’s definitely an above-average novel with a decidedly different approach to fantasy.

(6) Dawn of Wonder by Renshaw

Probably my favorite book of the year so far. I’m a sucker for coming-of-age fantasy tales, and this one is both well-done and very long. The main character is a village boy with baggage who — after a good chunk of the book — ends up being trained in a military academy for elite troubleshooters. Every chapter was fascinating and I simply cannot wait for the sequel.

One thought on “6 interesting novels I’ve read recently

  1. DDOCentral July 28, 2016 / 9:14 pm

    There is a horror anthology that is going to be released next month, ‘Doorways to the Unseen: Six Tales of Terror and Suspense’ (James Dermond) that I am going to check out.

Leave a Reply

