World of Warcraft: Frequent flyer perks

nipples

One of the things that the current World of Warcraft invasion events communicate very well is an almost cinematic sense of scope. It may be pretty choreographed, but it’s well-done even so. Just flying into a region and seeing the skies darken, the Legion spaceships firing down, and then approaching an invasion area — dropping down into it from flight to see the onrush of demons and the clash of noise is pretty intense stuff.

I also love the sight of dozens of players simultaneously taking off and heading in the same direction for battle. Reminds me of some of the movies of D-Day where you see all of those planes heading to the fight. That may not be scripted (just directed), but it’s pretty incredible to witness.

I really could do without the cheesy boss one-shot kills, though. Especially since you lose your chance for XP on that boss if you’re dead when he or she dies.

flight

Other than losing out on boss XP, Blizzard finally seemed to get the XP tuning right with a series of hotfixes this past week. Once you were properly getting experience for tagging mobs, then it made fighting once again a lot more compelling (at least for us pre-100s). I started actively participating as much as I could, chasing down bosses as much as I could for their sweet, sweet XP bounty.

I didn’t even fight, but rather healed my way through most of this. AoE healing enabled me to “tag” most of the mobs in the area that others were fighting — and I got to help people out as a bonus. I guess the helping thing should’ve been primary, but here we are.

I also got really good at zipping around the world to these six invasions. Four were right off flight paths while two required a bit of zone traversal. I was never so happy to be a Druid, since I could teleport across the world with the Moonglade port. No waiting for boats for me!

As a result, my levels started skyrocketing. I think when invasions first started, I was around 59 or so. When Blizzard finally got the XP adjustment right, I had risen to 82 (and a bulk of that doing AFK). The last 18 levels or so came over the weekend, since I made a game out of seeing if I could ding 100 by Sunday night. As it is written, so it was done. Now I have five 100s on Dalaran, although my Shammy is definitely in mothballs and I’m probably going to stuff the Druid to the back of the Legion queue. At least she’s there for healing, which is what I wanted with her in the first place.

On top of leveling a character to 100, the invasions were lucrative in other areas. I got a full set of armor and weapons for my Druid, with any leftover pieces sold for a good chunk of gold. A couple of thousand Nethershards later, and I was able to buy anything I desired from the event vendor.

So now what? Now we have a week or so to go before Legion and I’m plumb out of immediate goals for the game. I could farm more gold, especially now that WoW token prices are dropping (they’ve gone down on our server from 44K to 36K since the garrison nerf). Or push a little harder to get my Warlock’s herbalism skill maxed out if I want to speed up the garrison-farming process. But I think it might be best if I backed off for a week, played some other games, and recharged for the Legion release.

5 thoughts on “World of Warcraft: Frequent flyer perks

  1. Wilhelm Arcturus August 22, 2016 / 9:31 am

    Actually, I have a chat tab setup that just lists out exp gains, and I have been getting exp for bosses even when they have died while I have been sitting in the graveyard waiting for my ress timer to finish.

  2. Tyler F.M. Edwards August 22, 2016 / 10:53 am

    I’ve never gotten boss XP while dead. Just stage completion XP.

    I’ve been running a sick number of these invasions. It started just getting a couple of neglected characters to level cap, but one thing led to another, and now I’m horrifyingly close to being one of those insane people with every class at max level.

    I may need an intervention soon.

  3. Syp August 22, 2016 / 11:01 am

    I checked my log, never got XP while dead and waiting for the rez timer to come back on. Didn’t get it when rezzed either, unless I re-tagged the mob in time.

  4. bhagpuss August 22, 2016 / 12:25 pm

    I can confirm I am getting no xp off bosses if I’m dead. It happens so often I’m in no doubt.

Leave a Reply

