Retro Reprise Episode 1 – Duck Tales

duck tales

Is your life a duck blur? Then you’re going to need a strong dose of the Duck Tales to get you through it! Woo-ooo!

Welcome to Retro Reprise, a brand-new half-hour podcast showcasing classic video game music from the ’80s and ’90s. For the maiden episode, we look at one of the NES’ best soundtracks: Duck Tales. From the moon to the mines of Africa, this soundtrack was rocking it back in 1989 — and it still does today, considering all of the covers created by budding musicians on YouTube.

Episode 1: Duck Tales show notes (show page, direct download)

  • Intro (feat. “Main Theme” and “Launchpad Copter”)
  • “The Moon”
  • “Himalayas”
  • “Transylvania”
  • “The Amazon”
  • “African Mines”
  • “Niagara Falls”
  • Duck Tales Remastered
  • Outro (feat. “Game Over”)
3 thoughts on “Retro Reprise Episode 1 – Duck Tales

  1. ChaosConstant August 23, 2016 / 11:03 pm

    Nicely done! I was actually aware of this game’s soundtrack before I knew anything about the game. Somehow I was completely unaware of this game, despite liking the show as a kid, but ended up finding it through a few VGM compilations/remix albums. I keep meaning to pick up the remake on Steam, but have yet to do so. I’ve listened to the remastered soundtrack, though, and it is, as you said, excellent.
    I’m excited to see where you go with this series. Constructive criticism: have you thought about finding a co-host? Maybe I’m just used to hearing you on Battlebards and the MOPcast, but I feel like it’s a little awkward talking about the music by yourself. Not a big deal, just a thought!

  2. baldwinp August 24, 2016 / 8:14 am

    It’s a really fun game, Chaos- something me and my sisters could all enjoy.
    These retro themes are definitely coming back. I was at a wedding recently where, instead of the normal Sintraesque music during the dinner hour, we got to enjoy a bunch of re-worked video game themes, including several from the NES era. It was fun trying to remember what each one was from.

  3. Syp August 24, 2016 / 11:36 am

    I will bring in guests from time to time, but part of this series is just an experiment to see if I can adjust to doing a solo show. Plus, if I don’t have to wait on another person and have a 30-minute time limit, I can crank out a show MUCH faster than, say, a normal Battle Bards ep.

Leave a Reply

