World of Warcraft: The Legion countdown commences

The lead up to Legion has been a little strange on my end. I honestly think I was more excited for the 7.0 patch to drop — just in terms of anticipation, hype, and emotional dizziness. With the expansion launch proper, I’ve been so busy this month that I’ve hardly had time to really dwell on it, and so it’s rushed my way without a lot of long, agonizing days of waiting.

And that’s great for me. The Legion invasions and leveling up my Druid to 100 were perfect for occupying my attention, and in that I think Blizzard did a stellar job in making this last month of the pre-expansion bearable and even exciting. Plus, I’ve got a lot of planning for the fall in the works and projects in other games (such as getting my RIFT Cleric ready for that expansion) as well.

But now we’re the day before Legion and my thoughts have indeed turned back to the expansion. I won’t lie: It might well be the highlight of the MMO gaming year, right here. I look back at the road I took in 2016, getting back into World of Warcraft, building up my garrison, going through Draenor, and leveling up my alts. It’s been quite the journey and now we’re at the cusp of Legion.

It’s the big reset button. The gear treadmill starts anew. We’re moving digs from Draenor to the Broken Isles. There are new systems to be figured out and a new “life” to be explored. It all looks pretty great, from my perspective, and I’m hoping that the endgame world stuff pans out as Blizzard is hoping.

So what are my plans? It’s not the busiest week, although we will be doing stuff as a family over Labor Day weekend, which should shut down some of my gaming time (which is OK — the game will still be there afterward). I have five characters at the ready: My Death Knight, Druid, Warlock, Hunter, and Shaman. Unless I have a massive change of heart, I’ll be focusing on my DK for the first month or so. I think I want to explore the expansion on a single character before branching out into alts, and there really is no rush here.

I’m a little too old and responsible (or so I tell myself) to take a full day off to play on launch, and besides, I know how the crush of players can create all sorts of havoc and end up frustrating those who took time off. I’m sure I’ll be in there, but my mantra will be “no rush, no rush, explore, enjoy, pay attention to the details.” I’ll lose the race in the first hour anyway, and this expansion sounds like it’s going to be around for quite some time.

I’m looking forward to getting my artifact weapon and seeing what the class hall system has to offer, but more than that, I can’t wait for some good old-fashioned polished Blizzard questing. Draenor was a great ride while it lasted and I’ve heard some very positive things about this.

What are your launch day plans? Taking it casual or do you have a huge to do list at the ready?

3 thoughts on “World of Warcraft: The Legion countdown commences

  1. Tyler F.M. Edwards August 29, 2016 / 10:30 am

    I plan to work on build #2 in Landmark on launch day. I fully expect the servers to take a screaming leap off a cliff.

  2. repgrind August 29, 2016 / 2:16 pm

    I used to take time off work for expansion launches. But … now that I don’t raid anymore and just take it easy in game, there’s no rush. I’ll go to work, come home, and hope the servers let me on. First on the list … get Ashbringer.

  3. carson63000 August 29, 2016 / 7:24 pm

    I’ve seen way too many launch day disasters to ever schedule my life around a launch, e.g. taking time off work.

    I’ll just be playing as I play.. surely spending more time in WoW, less or no time in other games, and less time in other leisure activities like reading, TV and the internet.

    And if it’s like Warlords of Draenor’s launch, that means getting up bright and early Saturday morning so I can join the queue, ready to start playing Saturday evening when I get to the front of it, ohohoho.

Leave a Reply

