Struggling in RIFT

r1

Guys, it’s not been the best of times in RIFT as of late.

I’ve been neglecting my adventures in Telara to some degree due to Legion’s launch, but truth be told, it’s also been avoiding a harsh truth: I might have hit a hard wall in the game.

I started to realize this problem when I graduated to level 65 and started on my Planetouched Wilds intro quests. I was getting smacked down left and right, and at one point, couldn’t advance any further because a boss mob was eating my Dwarf tushie for breakfast. After calling in a guildie to help me past that particular hump, I realized my problem: My gear was incredibly sub-par.

Because I leveled up in experts, I was getting on-level XP while the gear was no better than level 50 or so. Well, that’s no problem, right? I hit the auction house and went bargain shopping for level 63-65 gear to get me competitive.

Yet that doesn’t seem to be enough. More than one mob and I go down like a sack of sadtatoes, even with a healing faerie out and a tanking build activated. Something’s very wrong here.

r2

I’m going to go back to the AH and spring for better 65 gear, but my big fear is that this zone was created for players who had really, really good endgame gear already. If that’s the case, then I’m going to have to hit some Nightmare Tide dungeons for a while, and that’s a bummer when I want to just enter the zone and see what there is to see. I feel that if I get into those quests and start earning gear rewards, then my character will find some sort of questing equilibrium.

Advice?

 

4 thoughts on “Struggling in RIFT

  1. Atheren September 7, 2016 / 7:35 pm

    My highest character in Rift is only Level 47, so I haven’t hit that hard content yet. I have been having trouble in ESO not being able to kill the level 11 (!!!! I know) bosses, and I was discouraged, but looked hard at my skill rotation and think I can do it now.
    Rift never seems very gear-centric to me, it seems all about the build. Good luck!

  2. Athie September 7, 2016 / 8:56 pm

    Rift changes radically at level 50, and gear is tremendously important from that point forward. Checking build guides is never a bad idea, but stats increase geometrically with gear level at and after 50 — a progression that I find frustrating at each expansion boundary (50-51, 60-61, and 65). I suppose one workaround is to buy cash shop catchup gear, sigh…

  3. kevinbrill September 8, 2016 / 9:49 am

    You may be able to ask guildies to craft some starter level 65 gear, and then be able to upgrade it via amenders. I think it should be able to get you a decent amount of hit through that route. I don’t have any armorsmiths at max level, otherwise I would craft it for you.

    Also, if you haven’t done so already, check out the Rust Bucket 2 chests: https://riftgrate.com/2014/10/23/guide-quick-level-65-100-hit-gear/

Leave a Reply

