Quest for Glory III: Tarnashed reputation

j1

(This is part of my journey going checking out Quest for Glory III: Wages of War. You can follow the entire series on the Retro Gaming page.)

Woo! Nothing like having a corrupt save file and being forced to backtrack over the past hour of play! Yay me! Yay for this game! (and it’s the second time this has happened with QFG3, so I’m starting to get more paranoid about my saves)

j2

At least I have all of these amusing sign posts to keep me entertained as I trek back to Tarna through four screens of jungle. Again.

After a good while and plenty of reloads, I make it back to Tarna, stumble into my bed, and hope that I don’t die from giant ant poison. With the dawning of a new day, I embark on perhaps my most important mission of all…

j3

Flirting with the waitress. WHAT. I am a single prince and I’m three games into this series without a single date so far. The centaur girl from the first game and the money changer from the second weren’t biting at royalty, so why not Cleopatra here? DO NOT JUDGE ME.

j4

Since I have the gem of the guardian, I’m finally able to turn in a quest to the tippy-top temple (as I call it). Apparently my soul is to be weighed against the Feather of Truth, and if you think that the devs were grasping at narrative straws here, you are absolutely right. Nothing conjures up the concept of truth like a feather, after all!

j5

I get conked out after drinking something in the temple and enter this weird screensaver trance. During this section, I’m repeatedly asked to pick symbols and then answer an ethical dilemma. I’m sincerely tempted to go with the jerk answers, but hey, I’m a paladin now, so I guess I have to make an effort.

j6

Surprisingly, “Stab them all and become a supervillain” isn’t on the list of answers. I’m curious why.

Ultimately, the feather finds me worthy (of… something) and I wake back up in my room in the inn, wondering if they drew on my face with magic marker and took embarrassing pictures while I was unconscious.

h1

Back at the apothecary, the hippie is still obsessed with the tree-woman from Quest for Glory 2. Dude, if you love her so much, why don’t you buy that game? It’s pretty cheap these days, I got all five in a bundle.

I trade in a whole bunch of stuff that I’ve been collecting from my travels in exchange for some healing potions and the promise of a dispel potion… later. Yeah, this guy just screams “fly by night operator.”

h2

Out in the bazaar, the disgraced thief from Act One accosts me and asks me to meet him at night. You see, boys and girls, when a shady convicted criminal asks you to meet up in the dead of the night, you should always say yes and never, ever tell anyone where you are going or who you are seeing. That’s just common sense.

Also, now I have “Call Me” stuck in my head after that greeting. Thanks thiefie.

One thought on “Quest for Glory III: Tarnashed reputation

  1. Shintar September 17, 2016 / 2:17 pm

    I suspect that the Feather of Truth is simply another reference to the Egyptian theme – in ancient Egypt, judgement after death was thought to occur by your heart being weighed against a feather – if it was heavier, you were wicked and your soul was devoured forever. [/trivia]

Leave a Reply

