World of Warcraft: Level 110 and feeling overwhelmed

q1

AHH! ORBITAL STRIKE UPON MY PERSON!

Oh wait, that’s just me leveling up to 110, three weeks into the expansion. So yeah, I finally hit the cap the other night while questing through Val’shara. I won’t lie — it’s a good feeling. Oh, I’m still behind in so many ways, but it’s like some pressure has been lifted now that I have at least one level 110 in my character roster.

And I don’t want this to be construed as complaining, because there’s nothing worse than getting to the end of content and getting bored, but I’m pretty overwhelmed at everything to do right now. I have scads of quests that go everywhere, and I don’t know where to focus. Class order hall? Finish up this zone? Scoot over to Suramar?

I don’t mind having a lot to do, but this being all new to me, I want to sort it out and come up with a plan of attack. A priority list, so to speak. I should probably do a little homework of “what to do when you hit level 110” so I’m using my time wisely. I know that no matter what, I will finish up Val’shara and then Stormheim. Need to, anyway, for reputation and exploration and the like. It’s nice to get the extra gold from quests, and the fact that all of this is still new for me means that I can be in it for the story and scenery as much as the quest rewards.

q2

Just a sea lion in a shower, nothing to see here. Wait, there’s LOTS to see here.

Even with an 110, I don’t feel the urge to pull out alts. For one thing, I have yet to establish a good source of order hall resources. People say world quests, but that’s not going to happen for me for a while, so right now about all of the resources I get come from finding treasures and fighting rare mobs on the map. I keep running out of resources because of this and can’t run missions half of the time. It gets really bad if I haven’t had time to play WoW, as is the case as of late. Being very busy and very tired is a toxic combination for gaming.

Val’shara as a zone has been… enjoyable, I guess? It’s certainly pretty, although navigating can sometimes be a little annoying. Reminds me of the early Elf zones of the game, with lots of steeper-than-expected hills and dense foliage. Without spoiling anything, I can say that the writers certainly aren’t pulling punches on putting the good guys in bad situations — and even killing off a figure or two. Of course, in the case of Val’shara, it mostly has to do with druids and Elves and hippie-nature stuff, so I’m a little less invested than I would be elsewhere. I’d imagine if you’re a lore wizard, your head would be exploding during these quests.

6 thoughts on “World of Warcraft: Level 110 and feeling overwhelmed

  1. Forrestra September 19, 2016 / 10:40 am

    I think the navigation issues are intentional. Highmountain is my most frustrating and favorite zone because of this. Since you go back to these zones for World Quests, there is an opportunity to learn this stuff. If you really can’t find your way out of a paper bag, you can always skip stuff or use your Goblin Gliders, or ask your friends (or even socially interract with strangers) for help.

    Given the number of things you can do, a question that’s popped up for me hasn’t popped in a long time: What do I want to get GOOD at aside from playing my spec? Learning my way around High Mountain? Suramar? Withered training? Professions (striving for rank 3 recipes).

    Which things annoy me too much to bother? Warden’s PvP quests, Kirin Tor puzzles? Withered Training?

    There isn’t only too much to do, there is too many good choices.

  2. romeomoon September 19, 2016 / 1:18 pm

    I don’t know if I’ll ever legitimately get to end game on any MMORPG as I skip around so much, especially if i get bored after two or three months of playing. Still, it’s nice to pop into a game I haven’t played in a while and have it still seem fresh, even if it’s long since stale for veteran players. Plus by the time I come back, there’s a much larger knowledge base provided by the more experienced fans.

  3. Nick September 19, 2016 / 3:27 pm

    I’ve been 110 for about a week on my DK, and slowly been doing the daily stuff and world quests. I do my allotment each day, go look around for some other things I might want, and generally just trying to enjoy my time on my own terms.

    I’ve been getting into some elements I don’t normally gravitate towards, like tanking dungeons / events (though I prefer doing that with guildies), and especially been getting into Pet Battles. Their additions of more ways to get upgrade tokens and the like that don’t make it feel like some giant chase for that one perfect pet made this a better feature for me.

    I’m pretty shocked that I’m likely to keep the train going on it for awhile, since I was fully expecting to do my normal “play a month” and move on. But for some reason, this expansion is just hitting all of the right buttons for me, and I’m enjoying it a lot more than I have in years.

    More than that, it came at a time when I was really starting to feel pretty burnt out on a lot of games. Black Desert had soured me to a whole lot, ESO and Rift really failed to grab me, and STO has been kicked off the back burner for the time being. It pretty much was exactly what I needed, which is surprising to me…

  4. Tyler F.M. Edwards September 19, 2016 / 4:10 pm

    I’ve been 110 on my rogue for a few days now. Oddly enough I’m not getting the sense of being overwhelmed that other people are reporting. Maybe the fact that I’m planning to move on to other games soon is helping me focus on goals I can achieve in the near future, or maybe years of WoW have just helped me prioritize.

    I’m not sure what to suggest re: your order resources shortage. I wound up with more than enough just by playing the game normally as I leveled, and they just seem to falling into my lap from everywhere doing world quests. I’ve earned about 3K in the last day without even trying.

  5. tithian September 20, 2016 / 5:53 am

    Here’s a major tip:

    Unlock world quests early, even if you don’t intend to do them soon. This is done by picking up a quest that ask you to level the reputation of all 4 zones to friendly, then raise the Nightfallen rep also to friendly (very easy to do, just a simple questline here and there).

    Reason for this: you get the rape whistle as a reward for completing the quest. Basically it’s an item on a 5 minute cooldown that transports you to the nearest flight point.

    That alone will solve any transportation woes you will ever have until flying is unlocked.

  6. Telwyn September 20, 2016 / 6:56 am

    I’d say beware the app as it is too easy to burn resources on that – my husband uses it a lot and has major resource issues on several alts; I rarely look more than once a day and, at least on my main, he’s drowning in resources since I play actively more than I run missions. His class hall progression is probably behind but at least I don’t have the resource scarcity problem.

    Just got to 110 last night for the first time and I can see how the quests suddenly multiply all over the place but I’m not feeling stressed about it, at least so far, as I have a clear objective (unlocking world quests). For the near future, when I play WoW, it is going to be about unlocking the necessary reputations on my main to get WQ access.

Leave a Reply

