World of Warcraft: Dark tidings and glad news

s1

I’m the third prettiest thing in this picture!

Whew. I think I can breathe easier. After having some panic over hitting 110 and not really knowing what to do, where to go, and what to prioritize, a little reading and research helped clear that up nicely. If I have a list, a plan of attack and can tackle things one at a time, I can overcome nearly anything. It’s the “DO ALL AT ONCE!” assault that sends me into paralysis.

I think the quests would have led me to where I needed to go in the end, it’s just that I hate wasting time that should’ve been spent more wisely. I’ve had so many experiences in MMOs when I finally discover that there’s some activity that I should have done every day for months now, and I was simply too ignorant to do it. Time lost can never be recovered.

So here is my to do list as it stands:

  • Work on Suramar quests and unlock friendly with Nightfallen
  • Complete Stormheim
  • Get dailies going
  • Finish class hall campaign
  • Consider starting up my Druid in Legion
  • Gear up (dungeons, class set)
  • Professions to cap: Engineering, Cooking, Archaeology
  • Work on flying achievement
  • Artifact research, order hall advancement, artifact leveling, etc.
  • Make money! (My sub is paid through the end of the year, so hopefully by Christmas I’ll be able to figure out some way to rake in enough to pay for WoW tokens in the new year.)

That seems doable. I hate feeling the pull between wanting to just slowly experience all of the zone quests for the first time and wanting to get to a point where I’ve unlocked the world quests and have a character that could actually do group content that isn’t just standard dungeons.

s2

Val’sharah is over, at least. Wasn’t a bad zone at all, and I loved how there was a bit of Gilneas content at the end. It was a pity that this part was really truncated, but still… great to see the people and buildings even for a short while.

Taking the advice of many others, I’m not going to rush into my final leveling zone (Stormheim) for now, but rather have moved onto Suramar to do a little rep work and unlocking of things that need to be unlocked. It’ll all be there, so I’m not stressing it (or at least putting on a brave face). It certainly helps that, for an endgame zone, Suramar is pretty darn beautiful. No annoying jungles, lava fields, or blackened skies of death here. Sure, there are Elf junkies everywhere, but I get to kill a lot of them and that pleases me greatly.

Also, I have an agent on the ground:

s3

Yessss… kill them all, my friend. Make them pay for their arrogance and illogical ears.

I’m really hoping to start clawing my way up to respectable item levels soon. Level 110 isn’t a cake walk; I’ve had a few fights where I died horribly, and that as a Death Knight. I do have an 810 helm from the order hall quest and just received an RNG upgrade on a cloak that turned it into an 825. Good start, at least.

Hey, remember when 720 was all hot stuff? Good times, man. Good times.

My only complaint so far is that dungeons — at least from the few I’ve run — have been overly long and not that lucrative. I do need to make the rounds to all of them, but often they end up being 45 minute slogs that only cough up a handful of pocket change for an awful lot of work.

4 thoughts on “World of Warcraft: Dark tidings and glad news

  1. Freddo September 21, 2016 / 9:57 am

    Good list but I would put artifact research at the top, that will help you greatly while lvling weapons on main and alts.

  2. coppertopper September 21, 2016 / 7:39 pm

    I thought it was just me – dungeons just drag for too long.

  3. Forrestra September 22, 2016 / 9:36 am

    When doing World Quests, World Quest List addon can help you prioritize them better.

    A few suggestions:
    – Prioritize Emissary Quests (the faction circles on the bottom of the map with the exclamation points underneath.) They require 4 WQs by a single faction or zone. Those grant a chest which can contain gear, gold, artifact power or Order Resources (all part of your goals)
    – Show all World Quests with sort by reward. Then you can pick your WQs based on your goals: money, Order Resources or gear. Some WQs are in dungeons, so you do dungeons and get WQ rewards.
    – Instead of prioritize capping your professions, seek to get rank 3 recipes. That’s far more important because the higher a recipe’s rank the fewer materials it takes to make (and the more profitable it can be). Rank 3s tend to be behind exalted reps. So sorting your World Quests by faction can show you which quests you want to do for rep.

  4. tithian September 23, 2016 / 10:24 am

    Usually heroics take ~20 minutes from start to end, while Mythics take ~35 minutes. It’s not so bad, assuming you don’t wipe. I think normals take longet because generally they are being done only by people that haven’t ran them before, hence why the tank usually doesn’t know what to skip.

Leave a Reply

