World of Warcraft: Embracing grappling hooks and world quests

grapple

Is there anything as fun in this expansion as the grappling gun? I want this in all zones, all of the time. So fun.

Since last we spoke of World of Warcraft, I’ve crested the hill of the pre-endgame and started coasting down the other side. Oh, it’s still a very long road ahead of me, but at least I’ve finally crossed the i800 barrier and unlocked world quests. That’s nothing for most of you, but for me? It’s a relief to at least be in the same ballpark as most players at this point. I felt like I was missing out on all sorts of daily rewards by not having world quests, and now? Now I’ve arrived.

Lots still to do, of course. But I have to say, I am really grooving on this world quest system, especially with the emissary quests. Plenty of rewards that I want and can use, plus a daily chance at a big one. I even scored a purple i845 trinket off of one of the chests the other day, my first purple of this expansion. Heck, I don’t think I had any purples in Warlords, which tells you how far I got there.

It all feels like you get on a fast track to fun and profit when you reach the world quests stage. For one thing, you can start going shopping for the rewards you want. For another, that whistle on a five-minute cooldown that takes you to the nearest flight master is a gem for a non-flyer. It’s made me go back and pick up the last few flight points that I missed along the way.

ship

Heck, I might be able to start running heroics in a day or so, which means that dungeons might start to become relevant again for me. I enjoyed the visuals of this “ship of the damned” one in particular, even if it still felt like a (wet) slog. Probably didn’t help that we had a deserter early on and had to complete the thing with four people.

The pull of my Druid is getting stronger and stronger. I really do want an endgame healer and as long as her time-to-kill isn’t ridiculous, it could be pretty fun to level. Then again, I have just so many regular quests, class hall quests, and so on to finish on my DK that it feels irresponsible not to forge forward under full steam there.

intern

Some of the quests continue to really impress with storytelling and variety. I liked this one in which you got to take on the role of a questgiver (for once) — to a group of kobolds, no less. Yes, candles were involved.

owl

My seven-year-old asks me every day if he can fly my “owl” (my Druid). I turn off the interface and let him explore all he likes. Usually he’s looking for dragons, although on this particular day he got caught up in investigating a volcano. But not TOO close, because we’d burn up!

shark

Uh, Blizzard? That is either the most buoyant shark in history or your programmers need to fix a little bug here. Also, how is me turning water under my feet to ice help me to walk on it? Shouldn’t this circle of ice just tip me right off?

6 thoughts on “World of Warcraft: Embracing grappling hooks and world quests

  1. Dobablo September 29, 2016 / 10:45 am

    The grappling hooks and flight master whistle are fun alternatives to not having flying. Combine that with easy accessible hilltops + gliders and it really demonstrates how flying can kill some aspects of gameplay.

  2. Asmiroth September 29, 2016 / 10:46 am

    I think this is the expansion that best fits your playstyle. You don’t have to be on every day, things can queue up if you have a session with a lot of time on your hands, or you can hit a few quick things in 30 minutes.

    If the focus is on max level content, past world quests, then it’s not terribly alt-friendly. Before that line in the sand though, it’s pretty neat. And unless my info is wrong, you can complete all the class hall quests with the LFG tool for dungeons, on normal mode, which is great too.

    FYI – there are grappling spots in Suramar city, once you get to that part of the game. There are some neat vistas once you’re on the rooftops.

  3. Tyler F.M. Edwards September 29, 2016 / 11:26 am

    I’m truly mystified by why people are so impressed by that Stormheim grappling hook. It’s a clunky crutch to compensate for how poorly designed the zone is, and it’s hogging a precious slot of inventory space.

    Granted, I’m an outlaw rogue, so I have a faster, more versatile grappling hook available at all times. So maybe that has something to do with it.

    As far as leveling your druid, one option for hybrid classes is to level as a DPS spec, but save all your artifact power items for your healer or tank spec. That’s what I’m planning to do on my monk going forward. You get your second artifact at 102, so your inventory shouldn’t get too clogged by AP items.

  4. Shandren September 29, 2016 / 2:04 pm

    Hehe. Yeah if you are outlaw rogue dont consider your oppinion typical for the grappling hook issue 😛 That talent is amazing!!

    I was actually going to suggest trying the outlaw rogue for just that reason, if you have an alt rogue. The freedom!

  5. Tyler F.M. Edwards September 29, 2016 / 5:23 pm

    Oh, the talent is awesome. I love the talent. The annoying, fiddly, unnecessary Stormheim mechanic not so much.

  6. kamaliaetalia September 29, 2016 / 6:41 pm

    I, too, think the grappling hook is So Much FUN. Whenever I’m in Stormheim, I always get so distracted by trying to figure out where I can go/get to in each area of the zone just by grappling around. I love it when I can “skip” a pack of mobs by grappling up, around, and down the cliff face behind them.

Leave a Reply

