Star Control 2: That’s no moon! Oh wait, yes it is.

moon1

(This is part of my journey going checking out Star Control 2. You can follow the entire series on the Retro Gaming page.)

We’re off on a very short jaunt to Earth’s moon in the hopes of earning the dubious help of a slave space station. Navigation is somewhat interesting in Star Control 2: Your ship retains inertia once you start moving, so you have to work with (and against) that to zip around space. Make a mistake and you’ll coast right by your target while painfully and slowly turning back around.

moon2

Fortunately for me and my extreme lack of combat ability, the moon’s base is empty and automated, made to look like it was still operating. But there’s stuff we can steal and the news of a lack of an armada sitting here will probably help relations out with the space station commander.

moon3

Have I said how much I love the humor and dialogue choices so far? There is absolutely no chance that I’m going to be roleplaying the nice, sensible captain here. Nope, it’s Emperor von Sypstar from here on out!

Unfortunately, the spy drone that left the system last time has attracted the attention of one of the Ur-Quan battle thrall races, the Ilwrath, and one has sent a ship here to deal with me personally.

moon4

I’m not playing the voice-over version of Star Control 2, but even so, I’m picking up a lot of personality from the music, font, and graphics here. I guess these bad guys are the spider-jerks of the galaxy. Also, they pray to several dark gods and two spoke to this guy personally telling him to blow me up.

moon5

A diplomat, I am not. Lock weapons and fire everything, Mr. Sulu!

moon6

I had no idea what I was doing going into this battle sequence, other than hitting my spacebar would probably get results. And thus it did. What I only now learned is that you don’t just control one big ship in Star Control 2; you control an armada. So you can select certain ships for combat in order to protect your flagship. That’s pretty cool.

butt

With the tutorial out of the way, the station commander finally bows down in subservience and agrees to obey me and service my flagship from here on out. He’s a little nervous how bloodthirsty I am, but he hasn’t seen anything yet.

He suggests that I go out among the starts and start building up an armada and an alliance with other alien species. So what should I call this alliance?

syp

As if there was ANY doubt which one I’d pick.

So I guess the station isn’t totally useless after all. After two weeks of retrofitting the station to serve the flagship, the commander explains that the station can do all sorts of things for me now given enough resources, including building new combat ships, modifying my flagship, and recruiting new personnel.

2 thoughts on “Star Control 2: That’s no moon! Oh wait, yes it is.

  1. Almonihah1 October 2, 2016 / 10:04 am

    Oh, StarCon2. The game I loved to start and never finish. 😄 I must have gone through this starting sequence twenty times. It’s a lot of fun once you figure it out. (Oh, and if you ever have to restart… go to Io to get radioactives instead of Mercury. It has much less in the way of fire and other nastiness. Also, visit Pluto sometime.)

  2. Matt October 3, 2016 / 12:37 am

    One of my all time fav games, hope you enjoy it as much as I did!
    If there is anyway you can switch to a copy with the voice overs, I HIGHLY recommend it, they’re fantastic!

Leave a Reply

